We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left reluctantly - plan to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Australia
1 review
“Left reluctantly - plan to return”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Recently spent 8 nights on a lovely spacious Powered Site. Our Caravan is 22 feet long and the site allowed easy access in and out of our site. Customer Service was exceptional. Staff were more than helpful and recommended several tourist attractions, offering to book on our behalf. The Swimming Pool and surrounds were exceptional. Loved the Water Slide and that the Jumping Pillow was in close proximity to the Pool. The new individual Bathrooms were fantastic and the Camp Kitchen was spacious and inviting. The location is wonderful for anyone who loves to Cycle, or walk as the roads are quiet and the scenery is extremely beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    118
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
149
134
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Caves Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The parks managers and staff could do well to learn how to put a system in place in order to ensure that the parks gardens are maintained & grass areas mowed in a timely manner. Our site had not been mowed before we arrived even though it had not been used in the preceeding days. Sandflies & mozzies are thick here and impossible to avoid being bitten constantly. Amenities, although new, are totally impractical and although visitors tried their best to mop out the unisex shower/toilet/vanity for the next person it was a time consuming almost impossible task due to the badly designed units. This resulted in muddy wet dirty amenities. The amenities were not checked for cleanliness often & toilet paper was not replaced. The pool was far too cold for swimming (approx 17 degrees) & the new kids play centre & water slide is not well designed for a relatively small pool. Certainly not a pool for adults even if the water temp was satisfactory. This is an expensive park, more expensive than others in the area and hence we expected that this park would live up to the normal Big 4 standard, sadly it did not. We would not stay in this holiday park again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Llawsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margy B, Owner at BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am sorry your stay in our park was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped.
It sounds like you may have arrived just after rain. It takes 2 men 2 full days each & every week to mow our extensive lawns covering over 10 acres of gardens, unfortunately after rain this regular routine gets interrupted on occasion while the grass dries out.
We also demist for mosquito in the park regularly but again when it rains in the beautiful tropics with the lush gardens comes many wonderful birds & also annoying mosquitoes. Again we have to wait till it stops raining before we can demist again.

I am disappointed you did not like our new family bathrooms as many do. They were designed to make it easy to clean them, unfortunately when it rains, grass & mud tends to get walked in on people’s shoes but as any mother knows cleaning up after someone else is never fun.

While it takes our cleaners quite a long time to scrub & clean them daily, & check them several times at different times of the day. It helps keep down our cost & hence our price if each person spend 30sec to give them a mop out after use so the next person can enjoy them. Ideally this should mean people are only cleaning out there own mess unfortunately many fail to do this as it is all too hard !! When we are busy I have on many occasion been up there at midnight giving them a quick mop.

I think if you check out the prices of Parks in Port Douglas I think you will find with our BIG4 10% MEMBERS DISCOUNT which most of our clients receive, our rates are actually slightly lower then the other parks & much lower then many coastal tourist parks down south .If you compare our faculties I think you will find we are actually providing good value for money in a beautiful location.

While we would love to be able to drop our rates unfortunately we only have a very short season to cover our costs & I am sure you are aware it is the cost of the most basic things like electricity & water that keep going up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed here for three days, the toilet/shower blocks and camp kitchen area were nice and clean.
Very close to the Daintree Rainforest so much so the lush gardens were teaming with "mozzies" I use a strong deet repelent but stopped counting at 22 bites.
This was the most expensive site we stayed at as we travelled down the East Coast and is worth bearing in mind is not in walking distance of anywhere really.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DawnLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We booked and paid for 5 nights in a family ensuite cabin but eventually left after the 3rd night.
The pictures on the website are a very long way from the truth, they are advertised as being set in a tropical park, but the landscaping is actually quite ordinary and far from everything.
The bungalow itself was filthy and the smell of rotting eggs coming from the toilet made us physically wretch, and if you happened to open the door of the refrigerator, the smell would kill you simply because the cleaning staff did not clean the area thoroughly between two guests.
Fortunately the common areas (toilets, shower, swimming-pool, etc...) had a higher standard of cleanliness.
Considering the above and also that the park is remote from downtown Port Douglas, it is really overpriced.
I think the Glengarry Holiday Park is fine as long as you have your own tent or caravan, otherwise, you'd better look for something closer to downtown with higher standards at roughly the same price range.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margy B, Manager at BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our park I am disappointed to hear that you did not find your cabin up to our usual good standard. I am not sure what caused the smells you complained about & as I was not made aware of it at the time I am not sure what the cause was perhaps the toilet had not been used fot a while as occassionally if it has not been used for a while a smell can come from the drain which quickly disappears once flushed or on accassion clients can cook foods which inspite of our best efforts can leave lingering unpleasant odours which take a while to disappear.Our cleaners take a great pride in keeping cabins clean but I guess occassionally things can be missed as they are often very busy with only a short period of time between check-out 10.00am & check-in at 2.00pm.If I had been made aware of these issues we would have sent a cleaner up to quickly remedy the situation.We do take great pride in providing good clean accommodation & I hope we will see you again so we can prove this to you & offer you a reduced rate to make up for your disappoint last time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had an ensuite powered campsite over the easter break wow what a beautiful place to stay, it was just beautiful and the kids had a great time using the pool/slide and the jumping pillow, they also thoroughly enjoyed the easter egg hunt that the wonderful staff put on. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We would highly recommend staying here and we hope to be back again soon A++++

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This is a first-rate campsite. The camp kitchen and showers/toilets are very clean and well-maintained. The grounds are also well kept.

The friendly staff are a mine of information on things to do in the area - and they can book reef trips etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaze2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We recently stayed 9 nights at Glengarry and were very happy with it, is about 6 klms from Port Douglas which appealed to us as we wanted somewhere to relax without busy roads and a lot of noise, yet be close to a great beach and shops. Park is huge and extremely well maintained the gardens are amazing not a leaf out of place. Staff were fantastic and gave great advice and had a thorough knowledge of the area. There some great fishing spots in the local area even better if you have a boat ask Rob one of the staff as he is a keen fisherman. I believe it gets very busy late May through September so pays to call ahead and make a booking. If you are fairly fit and want a great local experience do the Beach hunting adventure at Cooya Beach with Brandon Walker my 10 year old son and I did it and was the best tour we have done, every!! It was great value and you get to eat the catch afterwards, ask staff about it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mercuryprinciple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
4.0 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
596 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
4.3 mi away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#9 of 55 in Port Douglas
413 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park
Address: 70 Mowbray River Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the Great Barrier Reef and the Ancient World Heritage Rainforest, Port Douglas is a unique link to the diversity of Australia, with its accessibility to the Reef, Rainforest and Outback.Up here in Far North Queensland you have an area that is unique to any other part of Australia, and Port Douglas is so close to many area's that offer so much for a traveller to experience. For the more adventurous there are many varied tours and activities that are sure to wet the appetite of the most intrepid traveller.After choosing your camp site, powered or ensuite site or checked into a cabin or two bedroom villa there is plenty to see and do in Port Douglas and surrounding areas. Explore the Markets, the many and varied shops or have a coffee in one of Port's cosmopolitan Cafes, explore our natural attractions, take a trip to the Reef or self drive to Daintree National Park. A must see is Mossman Gorge with it's gorgeous 2.8Km walk around the national park, through some of the most spectacular rainforest (this is the start of the Daintree Rainforest). There is also the option of day trips to places such as Kuranda via the Train and Skyrail, the Atherton Tablelands, Cape Tribulation or even Cooktown. Alternatively, if you would like to catch up with news from home, we have FREE wireless access in our internet kiosk/hotspot area. Surrounded by natural wonders, Port Douglas offers a relaxing holiday destination with its spotless beaches and sparkling freshwater creeks. It is impossible to see and enjoy all that this area has to offer in a day. Our guests so often book in for 2 nights and end up staying for quite a few more just so they can experience all that the area has to offer. Experience all BIG4 Glengarry Holiday Park, Port Douglas and surrounds have to offer while enjoying the gorgeous weather of the tropics. We all need time out now and again whatever the weather, so discover the breathtaking northern tropics of Australia in our "GREEN SEASON" months at Port Douglas (December to March). The "GREEN SEASON" is often dramatic, wildly beautiful and eagerly awaited by our tropical rainforests. Without our annual rainfall, there would be no rainforest and, as many visitors discover, our 'Liquid Sunshine' doesn't usually interfere with diving, snorkeling or touring. The climate is seductive. Balmy days dissolve into tropical evenings. The tropics are a feast for the senses whether we have summer showers or warm sunshine during Winter. If all this is not enough, only 40 minutes drive to the south is Cairns with its shops, movie theatres, restaurants and beautiful Esplanade lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing