We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simple fare but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tin Shed

Tin Shed
Ranked #26 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Being a Club you do have to sign, but anyone can do it. This place is mentioned in lots of reviews and is a gem
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“simple fare but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

not much to choose from on the menu, and 30 minute wait for a table but it was pretty good.
At least we got a table on the waters edge

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    697
    233
    79
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magnificent view. Ordinary food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The view/position on the deck overlooking the inlet is amazing, although I imagine it gets very hot in summer. Kitchen opens at 5.30pm but you need to arrive earlier than that (before 5.15pm) to get a table. Food was ok; a bit variable and overpriced for the quality. I wouldn't eat there again. I'd go for a mid-afternoon or early pre-dinner drink to enjoy the view, and then go for dinner elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go !!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Took one hour for food!!! We were there with kids and complained 3 times. The staff said the delays happen every night. Why not tell the customers upfront ? When the food arrived some of it was cold. We got a bowl of chips as compensation . I saw a customer steal a drink tray and ask why ? He said compensation and we both laughed. We had a much better dinner the night before at the pub on the corner of mcrossan and the road on the shore. Sorry cant remember the name.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dom_piet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Run out of everything”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We tried to book and were told they had too high a turnover and to just turn up. So turn up we did - at 7pm when last orders were 8:30. The tables that were empty were all covered in the last diners' food and had not been cleared away. They had run out of the draught beer I tried to order, the wine that I tried to order and then, when they had also run out of the meal I tried to order we walked out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spanishsarah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice little Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

A shop keeper told us about this place for lunch in Port Douglas and it was FANTASTIC!! Great deck and views of the water, good food, fair prices. Right by the boat ramp

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Shed also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Tin Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing