We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel bed ever!!!!!”
Review of Port Douglas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Douglas Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel bed ever!!!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I just want to say a big thank you!! Finally a hotel bed that is comfortable. Most of my hotel stays I usually think it would be more comfortable to sleep on the floor. Usually when a hotel gets refurbished concrete slabs are chosen for people to sleep on. I know it sounds petty but as someone who suffers back pain every day it is absolutely wonderful to be able to get some sleep on your holiday!! =-)
Ok - now the rest of the hotel. The location was just brilliant!! Walking distance to everything you could possibly need.
The new owners are just lovely people and super friendly. Knowlegable about anything you could want.
The rooms are quiet and spacious, clean and comfortable with everything you could need for your stay. My only gripe would be the light on the air con but a well placed pillow cover solved that issue.Big screen tv makes a nice change too! Even the couch was comfy. I also loved the touch with the bench to put your luggage on. Well done guys.
Overall - we loved our stay and would reccomend to eveyone!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_wanderer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
A big thank you for your time to review the motel! We asked all old reviews be removed as they are not indicative of our refurb. but apparently they cannot be taken off so your comments will surely help us along the way! It was a long hard road to bring this motel into a comfortable,clean place to stay!
Would love to know about your marathon!!!! Keep well and all the best!
Susie and Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    95
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
147
218
54
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I loved my three night stay at the port Douglas Hotel. Susie and Leo were so welcoming and hospitable! Susie was so helpful by locating a physio number for me before I arrived at the motel which was a huge help not being familiar with the area. My room was spotless, modern, quiet and spacious! The common kitchen area by the pool had everything I needed so I ended up cooking dinner all three nights! I would definitely stay here again if I was ever to return to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amymortz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Port Douglas.
It is a pity that many photos Trip Advisor have posted on the Port Douglas Motel page are prior to our renovation so comments like yours are gratefully received!
Hope to see you again!
Susie and Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Accommadation recently refurbished. Everything you could possibly need. Clean ,tidy, comfy bed, couch, large flat screen tv, bar fridge, microwave, bbq area and pool, very well priced. Walking distance to everything. What more can i say? Definitely book and stay. We have stayed at many places in Port including upmarket Sea Temple and we would definitely go back and stay at Port Douglas Motel!.

Room Tip: all on one level, makes it so much easier than carrying bags up numerous flights of stairs. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very clean, friendly motel. Run by very friendly staff. Nice comfortable rooms with new beds. Very convenient as in walking distance to center. Staff knowledgeable about whole area. Overall great little place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Molly_by_Golly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our 8th time in Port Douglas and have now found the best accommodation. The room is comfortable and well set out. The camp kitchen is just wonderful. Leo and Susie make you so welcome. Close to the centre of town and a short walk to the beautiful beach. A home away from home. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: The room next to the pool and camp kitchen is just in the right spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
It is not difficult to offer friendship to nice people Jackie! You are both wonderful company and it is a pleasure having you at our motel!
Susie and Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Port Douglas Motel is ideal. Right in the heart of town, walking distance to everything. The owners, Susie and Leo, are both a great laugh and very helpful. They've done an excellent job with the refurbishment. Rooms are a really good size with everything you could need.

Can't fault it at all.

And, just to round off a perfect weekend, the Lions won too...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieExile999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
So good to hear you enjoyed the stay and thnak you for your kind words! You just had to rub in the Lion's bit!!!!!See how good we are as hosts inur country??LOL
Hope to see you back one day!
Susie and Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Samson, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Recently refurbished the motel has everything you need ! Pool, outside cooking area inside equipped with microwave, fridge and everything you need. Very spacy well designed rooms, only a minute walk and you are in the middle of town ! Fantastic hosts, great location - great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagmar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your time to offer a review! We appreciate the feedback and we were pleased to meet you!
Enjoy the rest of your travels and maybe one day we will meet again!
Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Motel

Property: Port Douglas Motel
Address: 9 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Motel is perfectly located 2 minutes to the beach and only 200 metres to shops,restaurants and bars!The motel has recently been refurbished and upgraded to a quality 4 star with everything new! We have facilities including a fully equipped guest kitchen/BBQ in the pool area and a guest laundry! We even have car hire onsite and book all your tours and trips.Although a motel we offer more than just a motel.Our facilities are excellent for long or short stay with a safe in each room!Our rooms are clean,comfortable with new ensuite, new pillow topped beds, great pillows,Plasma TV,DVD,Free movie choice,daily towel change and mid stay service for 7 days plus and use of free beach towels.We offer a great tour booking service,can arrange your transfers to and from the airport and onsite car rentals.Your stay is important to us. As owner operators,we ask Try Us We Care! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing