We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and most friendly.”
Review of Port Douglas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Douglas Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcoming and most friendly.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This motel has just been completely refurbished and is cheap by Pt Douglas standards. It is 1 minutes walk away from the main drag and the owners were really friendly and helpful and full of good advice.

They go out of their way to help you and make you feel really welcome. !

i would stay there again because it is so close to everything and yet not noisy.

The beds are really great as they are new and the rooms are very roomy and you have facilities for preparing food if you so desire.

I t is in walking distance to Fourmile beach , has free wifi and a pool and BBQ area.
The parking is undercover.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We thank you for your kind words and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    99
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
149
227
56
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 16th to 17th of April. Unfortunately just for one night, as we would have loved to stay much longer. On our search for a Motel we stopped here and met the new owner, who was so friendly and showed us around. He explained how they refurbished the last couple of months and we could see the great effort, as everything was so beautiful and cosy.
The rooms are all brandnew and absolutely clean. The motel is situated next to the main shopping area. It's not far from main beach or you can walk in a couple of minutes to the restaurants. A bakery is right around the corner and a supermarket is also not too far to walk. The owners are so helpful with giving recommendations for things to do. Thank you for welcoming us, we will come back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review we are grateful your feedback after such hard work renovating. Always easy to look after nice people! Enjoy the rest of your holiday
Susie and Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay. The property is still undergoing some renovations by the looks but our room was beautiful and must have been totally refurbished going by previous comments?. Spotlessly clean with beautiful, tropical colours reflecting the wonderful location. Staff are very friendly and went out of their way to help with tour recommendations. We were even able to hire a car right there! Although a short stay, we were delighted with our last minute choice. Reasonably priced and fantastic location. If in Port Douglas we will stay again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissyKafoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Port Douglas Motel is an old motel that has been bought to re-furbish. It is cheap by Port Douglas standards. The motel is not far from Macrossan Street, which is the main strip, and is not far from Fourmile Beach. Compared to the cheap motels in Cairns it is pricey. Parking is very tight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As we explained when you arrived we bought this property December to completely renovate and update a tired property.Renovations to be completed end of March 2013.
Thank you again for your feedback
Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
935 reviews
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Motel

Property: Port Douglas Motel
Address: 9 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Motel is perfectly located 2 minutes to the beach and only 200 metres to shops,restaurants and bars!The motel has recently been refurbished and upgraded to a quality 4 star with everything new! We have facilities including a fully equipped guest kitchen/BBQ in the pool area and a guest laundry! We even have car hire onsite and book all your tours and trips.Although a motel we offer more than just a motel.Our facilities are excellent for long or short stay with a safe in each room!Our rooms are clean,comfortable with new ensuite, new pillow topped beds, great pillows,Plasma TV,DVD,Free movie choice,daily towel change and mid stay service for 7 days plus and use of free beach towels.We offer a great tour booking service,can arrange your transfers to and from the airport and onsite car rentals.Your stay is important to us. As owner operators,we ask Try Us We Care! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Port Douglas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing