We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bucci Italian Restaurant

Bucci Italian Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bucci Italian Restaurant has been a favorite with locals and tourists alike for modern urban Italian, since 2009. Established by Spencer Patrick, Bucci delivers Italian buzz to the heart of Macrossan Street. Open for lunch and dinner 7 days per week, Bucci is family friendly affordable and delicious.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had the crab linguine and artichoke rissotto for lunch. Two fairly simple dishes, but executed flawlessly. Great service. Good value. Can't fault it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    323
    126
    62
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“BYO Special not honoured, food quality dropping quickly - like its rating”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have travelled to Port Douglas for years. Whilst Bucci (now Buccini) was awesome, it no longer is. Firstly, and the straw that broke the camels back, there was a sign out the front of the restaurant offering BYO on a Tuesday night which they refused to honour - blaming it on the cyclone (but still not removing the sign after we enquired). Two, the quality of the food has dropped substantially. Like most of Port Douglas that takes advantage of a captive audience, this place just want to get you in and out as quickly as possible. Whether it is sitting you at the bar and fleecing you before they finally get you onto a table to get you out as quickly as possible or serving increasingly sub standard food, this place is a disappointment. The arancini which used to be lovely are now quite literally fried rice balls with not much effort or complexity in flavours. The cotolette is plain, dry and uninteresting and the salads small and underdressed. This place is one massive disappointment, taking advantage of a tourist crowd willing to part with their money for Italian fare. In that respect it will no doubt continue to do well, but it shouldn't. Shop around, there is better food and better value for money to be had. Run the other way. I know one shouldn't expect more in a tourist town, but these people are literally just out to make money!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TurtyDovse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetawan, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value...classic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were staying at Oak Beach Cottage just 30 minutes south of Port Douglas but dined out each night in Port Douglas. We chose Buccini because it had been recommended by previous guests of Oak Beach Cottage and we were not disappointed. The rocket salad was delicious as well as all of our entrees.....very good value for the quality and presentation. The atmosphere is quite nice....comfortable and romantic yet has a casual air about it. The owner is very proud of his Italian heritage and impressed upon us that his eatery is traditional Italian, unlike many of the Cdn-Italian restaurants that we were familiar with. He is a man of few words but takes pride in his establishment. You will love this restaurant! Our favorite in Port Douglas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexa339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Not an extensive menu but far better - delicious food. As we have found all through the area great service with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Can't wait to go back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deejay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

After seeing so many positive reviews I just had to try it out. Great food served by friendly service!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodhipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucci Italian Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Bucci Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing