We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal in Port Douglas”

Bucci Italian Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 115 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $8 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Bucci Italian Restaurant has been a favorite with locals and tourists alike for modern urban Italian, since 2009. Established by Spencer Patrick, Bucci delivers Italian buzz to the heart of Macrossan Street. Open for lunch and dinner 7 days per week, Bucci is family friendly affordable and delicious.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great meal in Port Douglas”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This restaurant was very busy, which is usually a good sign that it's a good restaurant. We had to wait a bit for a table, but it was well worth it. The food was excellent -- good choices on menu, food is tasty and nicely presented.

We started with rice balls with portobello mushrooms, which were yummy, and shared a salad of rocket lettuce and poached pears (in wine) which was also very tasty.

For our main course, I had scallops (good size) beautifully presented on individual oyster shells, and hubby had chicken parmesan with a bit of a chili kick.

Service was very good -- a good find of a restaurant.

The only negative is that it was exceptionally hot and there is no air conditioning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeybee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    327
    128
    65
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Such a delightful surprise!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just walked in "by accident" after a day in Port Douglas.. Not only was the food quality outstanding, the whole service was friendly, relaxed and professional at the same time. We were so happy with it we came back a couple of days later to try something new on the menu and were even happier than the first time:)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FedeFede_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We choose this restaurant randomly from the street and so had no expectations. All three of us thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and had the chocolate cake for dessert. Lovely flavours, beautiful presentation and friendly professional service from the staff. Entrees were about $20+, mains $28+ and dessert $12+. Wine about $10+ a glass or $40+ a bottle.

A must restaurant if you love modern Italian food.

Helpful?
Thank Kressley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We couldnt get a table at the famous Salsa so we wandered over to Bucci. and what a surprise! our lasagne and piscutto risotto was so tasty it really beats any restaurant I've visited in Rome for sure. Great service and reasonably priced, should be on the top 10 list in Pt Douglas defo!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awesome_tnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked 1 hour in advance of the night we went and that was not greated with much warmth. When we got there the staff looked untrained and were unsure what they had to be doing but were being gently guided by the Manager. We were lucky to get a wonderful French/Canadian waitress who had been travelling and working around Australia. We asked her for her recommendations and she was spot on. We had the seafood linguini. There was a wonderful balance of pasta, seafood and of course garlic. Two of my family members had the open lasagna. Not your average lasagna. The layer it before they serve it. Also I thought the portion size was not enough for my husband his comment at the end was it was just right - not to big and not too small. We had the Affogato for dessert which was a perfect way to finish dinner. We tried to go back on our last night in Port Douglas. We could not call as the phones were down and although we got there late they were full and could not take us. If ever in Port Douglas again we will definitely be going back there again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneWithLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucci Italian Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Bucci Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing