We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take away pizza delivered to Sheraton”

The Beach Shack Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A local favourite, "The Shack" introduces you to a truly tropical Port Douglas dining experience with a wonderful mix of funky ambiance and laid back Queensland style. An eclectic mix of sandy floor, colourful lanterns, and a chill out bar with comfy couches, "The Shack" offers a delicious restaurant menu or more relaxed pizza bar menu. Come in for a beer and a pizza or a bubbles and tapas - it's what the locals do! Bookings for the restaurant are absolutely essential to guarantee a table!
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take away pizza delivered to Sheraton”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great pizza! we ordered in 2 nights while at the Sheraton Mirage. They called us when they got to the Lobby. Great flavors, great choice. Recommend it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brumbyintahland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    268
    71
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food but surly service”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had an excellent meal food-wise at the Beach Shack. All the food was delicious, and I particularly enjoyed my curry, one of the specials of the day. The beach setting is lovely and the menu is varied enough to please everybody. Unfortunately the meal was spoiled by our surly and unfriendly waitress, who seemed resentful at having to serve us - this was the only negative service experience we had in ten days in Port Douglas. Friendly service goes a long way towards creating a good restaurant experience, and this was sadly lacking at the Beach Shack.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzbee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant Food,great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Brilliant entrees and dessert, beach setting was amazing. Prices were excellent. Staff members were warm and welcoming and service of foods was quick and pristine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FootballTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This restaurant is a little off the tourist path and was obviously full of locals. The price of the food is more reasonable that similarly rated restaurants in town.
The food was spectacular! We had a Roast Vegetable Stack and Locally caught Nannygai followed by Bread and Butter Pudding with Rum and Rasin Icecream- Yum!
I highly reccomend this place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PoeticCrayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had takeaway pizza twice here.
Very tasty and well priced.
From the amount of people eating at this restaurant I'd say it's very popular with the locals as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Shack Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to The Beach Shack Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing