We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but some disappointments for campers”

Tropic Breeze Van Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropic Breeze Van Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed four nights in the unpowered camping area. Site was OK but very near the neighbors. Generally the service was good, amenities clean and comfortable. The location is very good, close to the tours, shops, restaurants and beach, all within a few minutes walk.

Now to our disappointments - after paying $32 a night for an unpowered site we had to pay to use the gas in the camp kitchen. We thought this was very unnecessary at such a high nightly rate. The restriction on using the power points to only phones was completely a surprise as every other caravan park we have stayed in during our three month trip had no such restriction. Modern travelers today all need a computer/iPad or similar to stay in touch and access info on the next location. You could plug in a toaster or a hair dryer in the bathrooms but not a computer? Someone needs to explain the power consumption of computers compared to other electrical devices.

We experienced invasion of our 'personal space' as our 'food basket' used to store our food in the provided fridge was 'sorted' in our absence. Why we do not know, but we felt this invasive. Also our tent was re-arranged in our absence as we unknowingly tied it to a tree/post. A simple personal word of explanation could again avoided us feeling our personal space had been compromised.

The camp kitchen lights suddenly went off without warning or advice while there were still several users in the kitchen? Again we do not know why, but having a timer switch would overcome this situation. Similarly the TV in the camp kitchen suddenly switched off half way though the football game being watched by several campers. Again no explanation or advice or the ability of the campers to make their own decision whether they wanted to watch the end of the game during the finals of the competition.

In summary, there is an urgent need to improve the personal communication techniques and reduce the 'control' mentality. This would result in more contented clients that would be more likely to recommend this venue to other travelers on both Trip Advisor and personally 'down the road'.

Room Tip: Check all the rules and conditions before confirming your booking. Many are not written down or conv...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Crockc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Tropic Breeze Van Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

I almost hesitate to write this review because I don't want this Van park to lose it's charm! I booked this place based on the other great reviews on Tripadvisor. They didn't steer us wrong. The park is not fancy, but it is very, very clean, the camp kitchen is very social and you'll meet some great people! The assistant managers (Marti and Mark) were awesome and sooooo helpful. The other great things is that it is only a 5 minute walk to the main street and a 2 minute walk to the wonderful beach. I would go back and stay here in a second. Dee from Canada

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deesaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We are regulars at the Tropic Breeze Van Village spending two to three months there each year.

Talk about location, location, location. I doubt that there is a van park anywhere in the world in a better location. We are 400 metres from the main street with all its boutiques and restaurants and 300 metres from the beach.

It is also one of the friendliest parks we have ever visited.

The managers are outstanding and work from dawn to dusk to keep everything in top condition. Some of the facilities are older but you won't find cleaner better maintained facilities anywhere.

It is always a sad day when we have to pack up and head for home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Collabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at Tropic Breeze for one night on an unpowered site. We found the owners to be very lovely, chatty, happy and helpful. The facilities were the cleanest we have had the pleasure of using since we started our travels around Oz, they were spotless. Location is fantastic, easy to find and is just a 5 min walk to the quaint town. The back door of the site literally opens on to the gorgeous beach. We recommend a walk up to the look out to be able to see the picture-perfect beach in full. We would not hesitate to recommend Tropical Breeze to our friends and would definitely stay here if we were to visit Port Douglas again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny and Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was our first port of call in our camper van. The camp site is a short walk too the main street of port Douglas. The lady and gent who own this campsite are fantastic. Couldn't be more than happy to help with ideas to go, places to visit. I would for certainly revisit this site and fully recommend it to anyone else. Amenities where clean and they have a pool too. Overall a great resting place, with a five minute walk into town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnpaul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed on previous occasions and again we weren't disappointed. We decided to stay over the entire easter break as we missed out at New Years due to my ill health. The park is nothing but consistent. The grass was mowed, the amenities were clean to a very high standard and the BBQ's and camp kitchen were again very clean. We stayed in the unit section and the unit was very clean when we booked in. We will definitely be staying again in the not so distant future. For those who have never stayed, the park is close to Four Mile Beach (walking), the bus stop is across the road and it's walking distance to the main "village".

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at Tropic Breeze Park. It was a delight to find this gem so close to the town and the beach. Great value, very friendly, helpful staff, clean grounds and amenities. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.7 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
622 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#9 of 55 in Port Douglas
418 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Breeze Van Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Breeze Van Park

Address: 24 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Breeze Caravan Park offers powered sites, camp sites and self contained units. Camp Kitchen, pool, coin opereated laundry, pet friendly (conditions apply). Walking distance to Port Douglas main street and the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropic Breeze Van Park Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing