We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, friendly and well organised”

Lady Douglas River Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Lady Douglas River Cruise is iconic in Port Douglas, successfully operating for over 27 years. The relaxing 1 1/2 hr cruise includes, crocodile and wildlife spotting in the wild, spectacular scenery, an informative and entertaining commentary and a complimentary beverage and nibbles. Voted the "Best Tour" award in Port Douglas in 2015. Departing from The Reef Marina, right in the heart of Port douglas. A must do for all visitors to Port Douglas. Very affordable.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly and well organised”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We weren't too worried if we saw a croc or not. The boat is spotless and the all lady crew were extra helpful and friendly. The trip was smooth and the viewing free and easy. The skipper tried all over to find us a crocodile, but they were all off snoozing somewhere else. Until... We were almost back to the yacht club when "big Charlie" swam into view! Wow, what a great sighting. Old Charlie, all 4+ metres of him, was swimming strongly right by us. His big yellow eye was keeping a keen lookout. It appears that the crocs are used to the Lady Douglas and don't seem to mind her. The skipper wisely decided to follow Charlie at a respectable distance, what a great experience. Great for kids too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny E, Owner at Lady Douglas River Cruise, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks so much your lovely comment made my day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    132
    19
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great cruise”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the best short cruise tours we have been on.
The captain and 1st mate was so friendly and have a wealth of knowledge of the area.
Included on the trip was a glass of wine, beer etc and some food.
It was also great to see a croc and some wild like.
Recommend to all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stumpie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good view of the crocs!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Two friends and I spent a couple of hours on the boat cruising up the river with a drink in hand.
Good commentary by the captain. We saw a couple of crocs sunning themselves, fisherpeople and some wildlife. Well worth the trip amongst the tropical mangroves. Suitable for all ages.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKE255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming hosts”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

What a surprise to board this iconic Aussie vessel and find the hostess and skipper were foreigners! Don't be put off -- their passion and love of the area is as great as any local, and they are more knowledgeable than many native born. The drinks and nibbles are served promptly and an enjoyable trip is ensured.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diner2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Classy Lady”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It is really refreshing to find a family owned and run business providing a really good river cruise alongside the hurly-burly of the reef-cruise operators. The owner/skipper of the Lady Douglas shares her enthusiasm for her waterway and its inhabitants - both in the water and the air - with her passengers and did everything she could to ensure we got the most our of our cruise. The drinks and nibblies were everything you could expect for a relatively cheap outing and the service was efficient and friendly. We came away with a much better appreciation of life in the estuary environment and some really good memories (and photos) of crocodiles and a magnificent Sea Eagle. A good alternative to the reef

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyfromNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Douglas River Cruise also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Lady Douglas River Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing