We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”
Review of Chez Willow R

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Willow R
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Pros:
Excellent location - close to main st and beach.
Very spacious house with ensuites to all bedrooms
Quality fitout
Outdoor entertaining area and private pool
Very clean!

Cons:
None that I can think of.

Summary:
Fabulous stay - we will be back.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RelaxMe000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Chez Willow R
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing 8 night stay at Chez Willow Villa 1. The villa is spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Great comfy beds and bedding, quality kitchen, and good showers. We were six people from two families and never felt crowded or lacked privacy. The private pool was fantastic! Chez Willow's location is perfect - everything you need is less than 10 minutes walk away and the town bus stop is 100m away - no need for a car! We loved it and have found our new favourite holiday house!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just had a week in Chez Willow villa 1. What a lovely property and so convenient for all that Port Douglas has to offer. It is great that all the bedrooms have their own bathrooms, all of which are well appointed. The house was spotlessly clean on arrival and had everything we needed to make our stay very comfortable and relaxing. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Turaga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Just returned from our stay at Villa 1 Chez Willow. We visited with friends (another family) - in total four adults and two kids (boys, both 5 years old).

On first impressions after a 7 hour travel to get there was, aaahhhh. Deep sigh. What a fab house. The owner (Jon) had organised everything well - lights on (luckily for us because it was dark when we arrived), air-co on (much needed as the heat can take getting used to) and all the practical things were there too from beach towels to cool bag for food shopping, ice packs and after sun spray!

The house is clean and modern, tiled throughout (which got slippery if wet) kept the house cool. The pool is small (a plunge pool) but was big enough for the two boys, who enjoyed the blow up pool toys, and buckets and spades.

All bedrooms are upstairs and the dining and living areas is outside so we sat there a lot whilst the kids swam. It is literally a few properties from the corner of the main street with a food convenience store and bottle shop amongst the first of the shops to be found. A Brumby's bakery is across the road and opens early for fresh bread and milk. It is a very short walk to beach and the marina so you could get away with not having a car here if you planned only to stay in Port. There's also a Thrifty and Avis in town if you later decide to hire a car.

Upsides: Location - can't beat it. Very clean, modern (in a Port Douglas way). Three bathrooms were also very useful. Everything thought of. Easy to deal with owner.

Downsides: The air-co in the queen size room did not work when we were there and the room was hot. The queen size bed also sags a little so could soon do with replacing. There is no grassed garden area.

Beware: With all the rain up there, the coastal road between Cairns and Port Douglas was closed so we had to leave before our stay was up in order to get back to Cairns airport in time.

I totally recommend a visit to Chez Willow Villa 1 and hope to come back one day soon.

Room Tip: King size room bed great on front of house. Queen room on side of house. Twin beds can be pushed tog...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelseywashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Six of us stayed at Villa 1 Chez Willow for 8 days in January. It was fabulous. The 3 bedrooms each have an en suite which is really convenient. The villa is fully airconditioned so it was always nice and cool inside. It is well equipped with everything you need for a beach holiday including beach towels, umbrellas and pool toys.
The villa has its own pool, yet is also only 5 minutes walk to the beach. The stairs up to Flagstaff Hill are nearby so there was ample opportunity for morning walks. The main shopping street is round the corner so shopping was a breeze as was eating out. There is a cocktail bar over the road if you want a change of pace. Wireless internet is included, there is a washing machine and dryer and 3 balconies if you want to watch the world go by.
Location: perfect, facilities: perfect. We had a magical holiday and will return!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MissMNorthQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband, 2 children (3 & 5), mother in law & I recently stayed at VILLA 1 - CHEZ WILLOW, which is the front villa/town house. Upon arrival we were met with clean and modern decor and the villa is fully equipped with everything to accommodate your stay. We stayed for 10 nights which included a mid stay service. Each bedroom has its own en-suite which is perfect for privacy. When we weren't at Four Mile Beach or out and about (a very short stroll from the premises), we spent most of our time in the alfresco dining area which receives a healthy share of the afternoon sun. We hired a car for our full stay, however this was completely unnecessary due to the fantastic location....I think we used the car a couple of times (it was helpful with young kids). And it was cheaper to hire a car than take the shuttle bus (which we've done before and would not recommend for young children.)

I would highly recommend this place to stay and will be making a booking for next year.

Be prepared for a little bit of noise from passing traffic, however I must say this didn't bother any of us at all. As the town is quiet at night, it shouldn't disturb your sleeping. Well presented, clean, modern premises, you can't go wrong with Villa 1 Chez Willow.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Beautifully appointed accommodation very suited to the tropical conditions. Great kitchen and outdoor eating. Location is excellent but davidson st can be noisy. Beach towels supplied. Great to have a en suite for each bedroom. Thanks Jon for your help booking

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank froggyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#20 of 42 in Port Douglas
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
697 reviews
0.0 mi away
Port Douglas Apartments
Port Douglas Apartments
#16 of 55 in Port Douglas
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tropical Reef Apartments
Tropical Reef Apartments
#42 of 55 in Port Douglas
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
port douglas cottage and lodge
port douglas cottage and lodge
#37 of 55 in Port Douglas
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balboa Holiday Apartments
Balboa Holiday Apartments
#14 of 55 in Port Douglas
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Willow R? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Willow R

Address: 6 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $258 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and immerse yourself in a magical holiday destination with the reef and rainforest at your door step. Throw off the shackles and nourish the soul at Chez Willow. Villa 1 has 3 spacious King size bedrooms, en-suite spa bathrooms and cooling garden balconies. The gourmet kitchen is a culinary delight, leading to a superbly vaulted timber dining pavilion beside your own private swimming pool. Walk to the beach - less than 2 minutes walk from the golden sands of Four Mile Beach, Chez Willow is just as close to the cosmopolitan heart of Port Douglas. Restaurants, cafes, shopping the Marina, or just soak up the tropical ambience. A splendid array of facilities and services await you at Chez Willow: Private 3 bedroom Villa - all superbly appointed King size bedrooms all with ensuite bathrooms Exclusive kitchen and pavilion dining facilities Villa has its own private pool and balconies Air-conditioned and insect screens throughout Walking distance to beach and village centre ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing