We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay at a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great stay at a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We arrived very last minute on a Sunday evening after checking out of (or not checking into) another Port Douglas resort. Reception were really helpful and provided keys to inspect Penthouse, Balcony and Basic rooms. One look was enough and we spent the next three days in a luxuruious and immaculate 3 bed Balcony Room.
The staff were very unobtrusive, but always there when we needed anything and added a nice personal touch from check to checkout.
I can highly reccomend the Coconut Grove as a very affordable 5 star option.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    64
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
139
201
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed 5 exquisite nights in a penthouse at Coconut Grove and could not fault anything. Amanda on reception was extremely helpful, pleasant and went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable, happy and nothing was a problem.
Coconut Grove is excellent walking distance to all the beautiful restaurants of Port Douglas. The penthouse was immaculate, provided privacy, your own rooftop pool, spa and stainless steel BBQ facilities. The kitchen was well equipped with all Miele appliances as was the laundry facilities. I would totally recommend Coconut Grove to anyone especially couples as most of the units have their own pools. The common pool area is also beautifully maintained so Im sure the other units are just as well equipped.

Room Tip: The penthouses have their own rooftop view including pool, spa and BBQ with sufficient deck chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Coconut Grove Apartments were a perfect base for five days in Port Douglas. They lived up to the positive expectations set by earlier reviews on Trip Adviser, and we saw none of the negative aspects. Notably WiFi is free and reasonably fast (the only hassle is having to reconnect every hour).

The apartments are large and finished to a very high standard and quality appliances including washer and dryer, stainless steel BBQ. Easy secure undercover parking.

Alicia on the front desk was exceptional. Genuine friendly and helpful service, Ask Alicia for restaurant recommendations - she knows them well.

February is definitely the off peak month - but don't be put off. Yes it rains for a while (and hour or so) every second day, but ask for umbrella's. Coconut Grove is very accessible to the main street and all the restaurants, pubs etc. February means bookings are not required anywhere!

Room Tip: The Penthouse level has the advantage of a roof top pool, large deck and BBQ. They are reasonably pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The old adage you get what you pay for is true at Coconut Grove. We stayed in a one bedroom Penthouse - just the two of us. Amazing, clean, clean, clean - how often do you see staff vacuuming the outer corridors?!. The whole experience was blissful!

I read every review on Trip Advisor before making a decision. There were the complaints about ants, a hair on the floor, weather, the shower, price, warmth of pool. Seriously, people? Ants can be a problem in the tropics…so what? We didn't see one! The shower just needs adjusting to prevent it from flowing on to the bathroom floor - easy! The weather - can't be controlled and even on a cloudy day, the Coconut Grove experience spirited us away to an oasis of calm and relaxation. We were stunned at how quiet it was, very well designed. Exceptional facilities in all respects.

The pool - was a perfect temperature even on a very hot day and the best place to luxuriate in at dawn and sunset when the skies above are busy with bird life. Forget wet season, we used the plunge pool at every occasion. It was heavenly. I agree with one reviewer that the landscape on the terrace could be softened with a few plants, but also realise that this adds further maintenance expense. The umbrella on our balcony was quite tatty looking. None of the others looked like ours (402). So, I got out my nail scissors and gave it a trim. When you stay in luxury accommodation, these little things matter too!

The service - well, Alicia understands the true meaning of customer service and was just a darling to deal with. In fact, all the staff were happy, giving and a joy to come into contact with.

WiFi - I was perplexed by the comments about 'no free WiFi". Yes, it is available by logging off/on from time to time. There is only a charge if you want unlimited access, uninterrupted by logging off/on. From our end - it wasn't a hassle.

Thank you to all at Coconut Grove for making our brief stay so memorable. We will certainly be back to languish in the Grove. Counting the days….1-2-3-4…..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceceloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

6 close friends/family stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse to celebrate my birthday. The apartment is amazing and housed all 6 of us perfectly. The location is superb and the outdoor entertaining area is what makes it so special. If there was one thing that could improve it would be the fact that the spa was the same temp as the plunge pool - in saying that we did not let management know as we were having to great a time. We didn't like leaving the joint to do tours as we just wanted to soak up the rockstar lifestyle!!
Will be back

Room Tip: Penthouse is the only choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie5Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very nice property kept very clean but it was our mistake going in February when it is humid and wet and nothing to do as even some of the eateries shut their doors so no value paying $470 a night when much better deals can be done in town at this time of year. My main gripe as it always is with me is the property penny pinching trying to charge for Internet as it shouldn't happen in 5 star properties and although I didn't subscribe to the Internet charges I would never return while they charge. The plunge pools in the apartments look impressive but are like bath water they are so hot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roralism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom terrace pool apartment. The staff are fabulous (special mention to Amanda at reception who is beautiful to see upon arrival). The apartments are truly lovely - quite luxurious wih Meile appliances and beautiful bathroom fittings. Absolutely no complaints. I was a little dissappointed in the size of the terrace pool. It is only a plunge pool with a spa next to it. It is quite useable however. The balcony is massive - but very tiled and hot - it would be nice to soften it somehow with foliage. If money is no object, then this is the only place to stay in Port Douglas as the location is perfect. For us though it was too expensive and we stayed off peak. For those prices I would have expected at least free wifi.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms 203 or 202 as the entrance door opens up to the communal pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Property: Coconut Grove Apartments
Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing