We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Outstanding location and apartments, luxurious five star feeling! Two minute walk to the beach and shops! Will definitely return, worth paying extra for these apartments. Fantastic utilities and BBQ in large private Terrace off the apartment, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 493 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

It is gorgeous, spacious and modern. We spent 6 nights Oct 2012. going back for Easter. Great location 1 block from beach and opposite great restaurant. Beach gorgeous. We have a 1 and 3 year old so had a ground floor appartment 3 bedrooms. Was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tickadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We normally stay somewhere more reasonably priced when we visit PD but decided to splash out for our anniversary. We booked a penthouse apartment and it was definitely worth every $.

The apartment was well laid out and spacious. Appliances were high quality - I particularly liked the ice maker! The bathroom was gorgeous, with a deep free standing bath, dimmable lighting and lovely L'Occitaine toiletries. Plenty of towels for the 2 of us, with towels provided for the pool too.

Upstairs was the roof terrace with plunge pool and spa. You can't swim in the pool (maybe kids could do a couple of strokes!) but it was lovely to sit in the pool and look at the view. We could see across to the distant ranges with palm trees rustling around us and parrots circling overhead.
There was a dining table and chairs on the deck and an undercover kitchen area with sink, fridge and BBQ so you didn't have to keep walking downstairs to the kitchen.

The location was good, on the quieter end of Macrossan Street, a few minutes walk from the beach. Zinc restaurant over the road was excellent for dinner one night. They provide parking under the building. My only disappointment was the $10 a day charge for Wi-fi.

Overall a really well thought out and maintained complex.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank reesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This is our second time staying here this year. We loved it the first time, and enjoying it just as much this time around. It's like a home away from home. Full kitchen, large entertainment area with private pool and spa. Large spacious living area. Little details like a fruit and cheese platter on arrival. Salt and pepper in the pantry. L'occitane products in the bathroom. There is really nothing we're left wanting for. Good for couples or families. If you have the budget to stay here - I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magentalovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Coconut Grove over turf week of the solar eclipse. Port D was buzzing and the location was ideal-right in town on Macrossan St.
We watched the eclipse from our private terrace (with pool, spa and BBQ).
The apartment was clean, new and the staff incredibly helpful as we were travelling with a newborn. We'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryceMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We came up to Port Douglas for a wedding and booked this accommodation on the advice of friends. We were not disappointed. The presentation of the room and the surrounds were first rate, the staff friendly and very helpful. The location is terrific,close to the beach and all the restaurants. If you want a really first rate and relaxing holiday then this is the place. We have booked a longer for next year. Our only gripe is that internet is charged for which disappointed us a little.

Room Tip: There is a really nice pool area in the common area so if you want to save a little money go for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and two kids spent 4 nights at Coconut Grove in late September and could not have been happier with the place. We were in a penthouse suite (the only one without a plunge pool unfortunately, something I felt could have been made clearer to us at the time of booking, as was disappointed with the defensive attitude I got when I highlighted this) that had outstanding views of both the ocean and sunrises as well as the hills and spectacular sunsets. The BBQ area was really handy as we spent a lot of time just relaxing by the spa and cooking up a storm. The only downside was the halogen light wasn't working so it was dark after hours. The rooms were fantastic and the kitchen superbly laid out with all the equipment you need for a stay. The location of the apartment was great being on the main street close to both the shopping/dining district as well as 4 mile beach. All in all Coconut Grove made our first trip to FNQ a memorable affair and one we would highly recommend to anyone considering something special.

Room Tip: The penthouse suites are best for privacy and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bevanlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 57 in Port Douglas
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $255 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing