We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect !!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at coconut grove in a August 2011 for 5 nights with another couple. The accomodations location was the number one reason for staying there as it is right in the main street. We found it to be very quite, very relaxing with our own roof top pool and spa away from children which we left at home. The room could do with some more salad bowls/serving trays etc. It was very clean. The staff were very helpful. We have stayed in Port Douglas before and this accomodation is by far superior to most. If you dont like resort style accomodation, and you just want peace this is the place. We walked to everything and didnt need to rely on buses etc. We have rebooked and would recomend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite on highest floor. Mention if you are not wanting children near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    66
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
143
209
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our family of 5 rented one of the 3 bedroom condominiums in this complex. Our unit came with its own plunge pool (size of large hot tub). It was not heated but provided a nice place to hang out. We had a huge patio as well. The only mildly disconcerting aspect of this is that the other units above (we were on the first floor) look down on your patio and pool. We looked over Macrossan street but didn't find it noisy. I loved being in town but down at the end towards the beach. We found food & got take out rather than eating in restaurants. The place was clean & well equipped although our cooking needs were minimal. The laundry facilities in the room were a welcomed addition. We had lots of room to spread out. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee70471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We recently stayed 5 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment in Coconut Grove.
The apartments was lovely... very modern and lots of space. The bathroom - particularly the bath tub - was great and the complimentary soaps and cremes were divine. Sadly we both found the bed disappointingly uncomfortable - even after busy days of snorkeling and quad biking!
The pool area was great too although there weren't many lights for nighttime swimming and bbq-ing (just one flood light that we found). It was difficult to work out the switches for everything - some we worked out the day we left!
Although the apartment was great we felt uncomfortable being on the deck as it overlooked the pool, spa and deck of the apartment below - this was just weird! The cheese platter and champagne was a great inclusion and Charlotte, the masseuse, was amazing.
Coconut Grove has a great location - away from the noise of the restaurants and shopping and close to Four Mile Beach. The staff were welcoming and helpful - though we only saw them twice. This resort would be better if it has an inhouse restaurant or provided more information on local attractions and cruises etc.
We enjoyed our stay however cannot justify spending the tariff of this accommodation for future trips to Port Douglas. It was lovely for a honeymoon but too expensive for a winter getaway trip.

Room Tip: Definitely go a Penthouse for privacy and ask for a room close to Four Mile Beach as they are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenAdam_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

See the other reviews for what a great resort this is. This review is for management & owners.
Three groups staying on 3 different levels. So we got a good look around.
Hints for booking:
An internet rate saved us one nights accomodation. Book & paid 6 months in advance.
Choose an apartment on the Beach side of the Macrossan corner as it is quieter. Our apartment 103 had the pool raised up so it blocked street noise.Needs a rail to prevent slips. However the pool was over looked by the floors above.
Our friends on the upper floors & on the town side of Macrossan street found it more noisey. The second floor apartment we saw had a master bedroom with a folding door between the family room. It was 3 bedroom apartment. Not wonderful if someone is up late & others want to sleep. Pool also over looked by floor above however on the same level as the family room & kitchen so good for supervising the swimmers.
The third floor apartments have a smaller baloney( in facted crowded ) because there pools are on the top floor. Great views & no over looking. Poor supervision for young swimmers thou.

One of the reasons we stayed at Coconut Grove were the pools. Port Douglas during July can be very windy & not good beach weather which was the case this July. 2 weeks of wind & cloud. The private pools gave us an alternative to the Beach. They were a good sun trap & away from the sea wind (it was not a breeze ) .However were over looked.
All 3 groups felt that the easy chairs around the pools were way too low. 12 inchs off the ground felt like you were sitting on it. Not 4 stars. No others available. Yes we asked. As other baloncies had different furniture. None available. In fact unhelpful.
House keeping justed arrived. No notice or phone call ahead . A text or phone call the day before or on the day would mean you could be out or at least not sleeping in the afternoon. One services arrived at 2.30pm.Offered to go way but did not know when they would be back
.
The kitchens are under done on platters,serving bowls,salad bowls , serving spoons & salad
servers. A three bedroom apartment with bar be q & 6 chairs need more that 1 salad bowl & no platters to take meat to the cooker. No trays for heating pies , sausage rooms or roasts in the oven. Plenty of glasses & some plastice for around the pool. Thou no notice to advice no glass at the pools.
Not everyone takes the time to read the brown book of services. A notice on the back of the front door & or on the baloncy advising of the 10.00pm curfew for the pools & baloncy's would seens like a good idea. During our stay a party went well after 12.15.am before it stopped. I am sure they had a good time however the other guest did not enjoy the karaoke.

Some thoughts to book by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachFamily00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We decided on Coconut Grove from the rave reviews on Tripadvisor. We booked directly for our 10 night trip now in July. Penthouse suite was just sensational. 3 bedrooms, private pool which was just incredible, fully equipped kitchen, laundry,2 bathrooms . Towels changed daily and apartment cleaned on our 5th day. Apartment also has loads of cupboard space, best bath tub, very quiet, and perfectly positioned in the heart of Port Douglas. I feel so spoilt to be able to stay in such a sensational place. I don't think we could stay in any other accommodation in Port Douglas and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lea110270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We recently had an 11 night stay in a balcony apartment at Coconut Grove. There are so many accommodation options in Port Douglas it can be a bit overwhelming when trying to select one. Mainly on the recommendations of others from Trip Advisor, we settled on Coconut Grove Apartments and didn't regret the decision at all. We booked direct, all via email, and because we were staying 10 nights or more, got one night free.
The kitchen has everything you could possibly need, the bathrooms are huge and the beds are very very comfortable. Having a fully equipped laundry is a big bonus too, we did a load of washing each night, hung it on the clothes airer provided and it was dry the next morning (there is also a clothes dryer should you need it).
There's plenty of wardrobe space, a spacious lounge room and the balcony is a great place to have a cuppa or glass of wine. We had a hire car, so we got our own garage door opener to access the secure parking area under the apartments.
I was surprised at how quiet it was inside the apartments. With such a big complex, and being right on the main street, I thought noise could be a problem at times. We rarely heard traffic noise and only occasionally were aware of noise from other guests (and none of it was invasive - just a bump from upstairs or a distant squeal from the pool).
The only thing that I think could be improved upon would be better block out blinds in the main bedroom, they didn't do a great job of blocking out light and the gap in the middle let a bit of street light in at night.
Overall I would absolutely recommend Coconut Grove to anyone visiting Port Douglas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moohie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adeliade south austriala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

we had an exellant time in port douglas at cocnut grove,it might be a bit dearer than the others but you have every thing at your finger tips.hotles, tours,shops,resturants and 2mins walk to the beach.the terrace that we rented was above your wildest dreams.so clean and very funcual,with every thing there for you.the staff well thats another story .they were great,very friendly.helpfulland honest.they went out of there way to make you feel welcomeand they were pleased to have you stay there.they aslo told us some tours to go on and good places to shop and eat.nothing was to much trouble for them .thoughs little extras you would expect from a 10 star accomidation....thanks to alica and all the staff for a great holiday and we will be back and recomend you to everyone THANKS JENNY AND TREVOR LOVATT.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trev258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
935 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Property: Coconut Grove Apartments
Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing