We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generally good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Villas Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Generally good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Reasonable hotel spoilt by niggles such as having to pay extra for pool towels. Also the reception closed at 6pm without us being informed before arrival so we had to find things out for ourself on the first night.
However, good room and pool.

Room Tip: All seem quiet and accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    78
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
113
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our first holiday to Port Douglas was because we saw really cheap accomodation from Palm Villa through Travstar website. It's indeed a great value for money. Jakob the care taker really was amazing, he clearly explained about the place and also the surroundings very well. We feel really happy to be first Nepali couple. Room was fantastic and clean so was pool. I would highly recommend to all the people to go there.
Thanks for great hospitality. Jakob

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andazrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warburton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

well what a lovely place the apartment was very clean and comfy .the balcony was good but the pool was devine mostly shady , the manager was spot on nothing to much trouble for him and very helpful, would recommend this place in a heart beat ,thank you for making our stay so pleasureable

Room Tip: we had room 13 nice view at front of apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybear151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you want a reasonably priced base in Port Douglas then look no further. Whilst the hotel is a bit jaded the rooms are very comfortable and a good size, the location is excellent being in the street back from the main street Macrossan Street and only a few mins walk to the Marina, town and 4 mile beach. The owner Jakob is brilliant and really helpful. Ask for a room overlooking the pool or that side of the hotel, it overlooks a small street and is nice and quiet.

Brilliant value for money

Thanks Jakob

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimscamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for four nights in this complex in January. The apartment was clean, spacious and exactly as described. The fans and air conditioning helped us survive the heat and humidity! The complex is close to the beach and restaurants so a car isn't essential. Jakob was super helpful from the minute we arrived and was a wealth of knowledge throughout our stay.

We can highly recommend Tonys Tropical Tours for the Daintree Rainforest and the Calypso Boat for the Great Barrier Reef.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights at Palm and while a little nervous of the slightly tired fixtures and fittings found it clean and comfortable and the small pool a welcome respite from the heat and humidity. Jakob was most helpfull and we would not hestitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced three star apartment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingil Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've been staying at Palm Villas for over 5 years and have just returned from another short 2 night stop. As always, the unit was quiet, tidy and clean, Jakob was his friendly self and would be a fountain of local knowledge for anyone who needs it.
But what really makes Pal Villas stand out is the amazing value-for-money that it represents. For about $100 a night you get a unit with full kitchen facilities, a sitting room and separate bedroom. The on-site pool is always clean and welcoming. On top of all this you're just one block back from Macrossan St and a 5 min walk to 4 Mile Beach.
I don't know of anywhere else in Port that comes close to this in terms of value combined with location and that's why I return time and again to Palm Villas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#34 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Port Douglas - Boutique Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Port Douglas Backpackers
Port Douglas Backpackers
#25 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Regal Port Douglas
Regal Port Douglas
#17 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#5 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villas Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villas Port Douglas

Property: Palm Villas Port Douglas
Address: 40 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Villas Port Douglas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Villas is located in the center of town within easy walking distance to the beach, marina, restaurants and shops on the Macrossan Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Villas Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing