We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food and great service!”
Review of Harrison's Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Harrison's Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Harrisons Restaurant exists in a setting that is made for romance and fun. The colonial style house and colourful gardens create a wonderful atmosphere for cocktails, romantic dinners and celebratory events. Food is skillfully created using produce that is always fresh and preferrably local. Spencer Patrick, owner of Harrisons, has navigated Harrisons as an award winning restaurant since it's inception in 2007. Harrisons has consistently held national accolades for it's food and wine and stands alone as Port Douglas' only One Hat rated restaurant in the QLD Good Food Guide. Spencer's style draws from his training in classic French cuisine and love for all things English. His belief is that good food can be enjoyed any where in the world, but what better place to enjoy it than in Paradise!
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great food and great service!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I would have to say that this place was one of the best restaurants I have been to for a long time. You get a served fresh bread and butter on arrival and during each course a tiny tasting item (eg. sausage roll or banana mouse dessert) so that you can continue to be delighted by the overall experience.
We had the lamb shoulder for two and we were delighted at the fact the meat just melted in your mouth. One aspect I would of improved on was the lack of sauce in this dish - but this is a minor aspect overall.
Make sure you book in advance on a weekend as it is quite popular.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elocin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    191
    87
    60
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jack green”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This was a joke - surely. Medley of pork @ $40 was literally a couple is tiny rib bones and two square inches of pork belly & a tiny bit of black pudding. Left hungry and ripped off

Helpful?
3 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner in a nice indoor/outdoor setting”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a group of 7 for dinner. Meal was quite good, and was interesting to the foodie-inclined among us. The open-walled atmosphere was very nice. This place is in a 'town'-like area (not on the water). Probably just 'okay' for the kids, but a solid choice for grownups.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HouTexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting & food”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Had a new waiter who wasn't able to answer questions, and took my empty wine glasses without offering me another one?? Regardless he was willing to please, as were the rest.

Palate cleanser / appetisers were great.

Lamb shoulder to die for! Too big for my partner and I to finish. Lovely flavours.

Lemon plate desert was fantastic, loved it.

5 star food, but you pay for it :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank DeeJayCee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

That's a pretty big statement since we only had one main - the market beef for two, which was a rib steak that day, served with jus, house mustard, chargrilled vegetables (parsnip, brocollini, carrot, asparagus) and Irish mash, which I assume is colcannon. Every item was delicious (although the mustard slightly too hot for my taste), but the beef was amazing - the crust was so tasty and the inner meat was tender. The only downside was that the meal was too big so we did not sample the dessert. We also received a very nice amuse-bouche of fried goat's curd, smoked beetroot and feta.

The service was attentive and professional, and the staff were all very genial. I'd recommend making a booking if you're considering Harrison's.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nealak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrison's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing