We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World Class Dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrison's Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Harrison's Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Harrisons Restaurant exists in a setting that is made for romance and fun. The colonial style house and colourful gardens create a wonderful atmosphere for cocktails, romantic dinners and celebratory events. Food is skillfully created using produce that is always fresh and preferrably local. Spencer Patrick, owner of Harrisons, has navigated Harrisons as an award winning restaurant since it's inception in 2007. Harrisons has consistently held national accolades for it's food and wine and stands alone as Port Douglas' only One Hat rated restaurant in the QLD Good Food Guide. Spencer's style draws from his training in classic French cuisine and love for all things English. His belief is that good food can be enjoyed any where in the world, but what better place to enjoy it than in Paradise!
Level Contributor
258 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“World Class Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I ate at Harrison's on a recent trip to Port Douglas. What an unexpected surprise to find such an outstanding meal. The food was innovative and delicious and the service was very attentive. Great selection of wines and the staff was very knowledgeable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ahg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    191
    87
    60
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“O what a night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

What an amazing experience.
Front of house staff where lovely. Food was amazing!! Cocktails even better.
Runs rings around Sassi ten fold.
If your in town it's a must. Duck & Ox cheek to die for. Hug complements to the chefs.
Till next time.
PaulineB

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If Only Michelin Rated Australian Restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

During nearly 21 years of marriage, my husband and I have loved to travel and thus enjoy great dining experiences. This is why we chose to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary in Monte Carlo dining at Le Louis XV Alain Ducasse. The previous year on our 19th we dined at Tetsuya's. The list goes on. Apart from the Kobe we had at Al Biernat's in Dallas, the Chateaubriand we enjoyed at Harrisons a few years ago was one of the best dishes we had ever consumed in our lives. We loved it so much, that we had to come to Port Douglas as soon as we could to dine at Harrisons again. We were finally able to fit it in and organised accommodation for 2 nights this week and booked Harrisons for both nights. Over the last two nights we had:-

Night One - Oysters, Sardines, Squid, Leek & Potato, Ox Cheek and Apple Pie.

Night Two - Beef for Two.

The Squid looked like a work of art and even the "little" things like the potato served with the Leek had an amazing texture due to the way it was prepared. The detail and the flavour of everything was just perfect. That Apple Pie is easily the best I have had in my life. The pastry was incredible.

The Amuse Bouche with beetroot, cumin, fetta was just insane. (We still remember and rave on about the cauliflower foam we had there a few years ago). Cleansing our palate before dessert with the passionfruit sorbet in lime was delightful.

On the second night, the Beef for Two was incredible. If that was served in Sydney it would be charged at least 1.5 times as it was there and I doubt it would be cooked as it is here. It is the only place I have enjoyed beef like that. It's like eating a peach, if that makes any sense. The meal is more like Beef for Four. We could not fit in anything else.

The only negative is that just like the Tipsy Cake at Heston's Dinner in London and so many other great dishes we have been amazed by, we will have to wait until we can travel to these places before we can experience them again. It's the curse of such great dining. The service on both nights was fantastic. "Linda" on the first night, from Sweden with an Irish accent, was easily one of the best waitstaff we have encountered in a restaurant. All the staff we encountered were first class.

Thanks again for a great experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BestFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reina_PHB, Owner at Harrison's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Every member of the team was delighted to read your kind words. We hope to see you in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Ambiance fantastic, service wonderful and food brilliant.

Will be back and in the meantime rave to friends about it.

My boyfriend claims the Ox has been the best meal he's had in a long, long time.

Helpful?
1 Thank DanniFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
266 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Had lunch and just the two of us for the whole restaurant (just started doing lunch). Great food but drinks a bit pricey. Service was excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank markmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrison's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing