We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people serving great food!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrison's Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Harrison's Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Harrisons Restaurant exists in a setting that is made for romance and fun. The colonial style house and colourful gardens create a wonderful atmosphere for cocktails, romantic dinners and celebratory events. Food is skillfully created using produce that is always fresh and preferrably local. Spencer Patrick, owner of Harrisons, has navigated Harrisons as an award winning restaurant since it's inception in 2007. Harrisons has consistently held national accolades for it's food and wine and stands alone as Port Douglas' only One Hat rated restaurant in the QLD Good Food Guide. Spencer's style draws from his training in classic French cuisine and love for all things English. His belief is that good food can be enjoyed any where in the world, but what better place to enjoy it than in Paradise!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people serving great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic night with a wonderful atmosphere. I loved the way the chefs has mixed odd and unusual flavours. Great change up!!! Staff were amazing people as well

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mazzoo8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    191
    87
    60
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
goldcoast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Port food challenging you taste buds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The menu and ingredients are out there and may not suit some diners - recommend you check out the menu and then book. Food was great and service attentive. The ambience is fantastic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BindareeGoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In a league of its own”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

There are a number of good restaurants in Port Douglas but Harrison's is a level above all the others. It is consistently very good and compares with the best in Sydney, Melbourne, Singapore and elsewhere in Asia. Last Saturday I had a starter of beetroot and cured Spanish Mackerel, followed by a main comprising duck, apple, fennel and liquorice - two wonderful courses. The ambiance is of course very pleasant, the wine list is interesting, and the service was excellent. There is not one aspect that I could fault from my most recent visit. Definitely 4.5 stars.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hsnamf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Superb, yet again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We dined at Harrison's last night and once again the food and service could only be described as superb. I am a big fan of Steak Tartare and last nights was by far the best ever. The Spiced Blood Bread an unusual and delicious addition.
The noises my wife made whilst eating her entrée of Oyster Beignets were almost a "When Harry met Sally" moment. Our two mains of Duck Apples and Liquorice and Scorched Miso Salmon were both outstanding. We do a very basic version of the Salmon at home but it never gets close to this.
The star of the night for me was the dessert of Treacle Tart, done with a Harrison's twist. Childhood flavour memories, deconstructed and perfected, More strange noises from our table!!!.
The complimentary amuse bouche and palate cleanser were both out of this world (how do you get so much flavour into something so light?)
Service as always was exceptional with friendly knowledgeable staff who always get the balance of checking all is good versus intruding just right.
In summary, we have always given Harrison's a 10 out of 10. Somehow you guys have taken it a few steps further. Thank you and we hope to be back soon. (not sharing the dessert next time!)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PortDouglasHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Me and my partner had a great dinner at Harrison's. Our meals were amazing with steak cooked to perfection and a delicious dessert. We appreciated and loved the complimentary amuse bouche, 2 types of freshly baked bread with whipped butter and palate cleanser before dessert. We thought that the service was fantastic and the atmosphere beautiful and liked that they also didn't look down their nose at us when we produced an entertainment card for 50% off.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sal_Cat_Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrison's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing