We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Do It” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tortillas Cocina Mexicana - CLOSED

Tortillas Cocina Mexicana
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tortillas is a very popular small restaurant offering a range of fresh authentic Cali/Mex cuisine, accompanied with great modern mex/latin music. Dining extends out onto the footpath giving Tortillas a really tropical feel. Reservations are recommended for dinner (Mon to Sat). Tortillas is closed on Sundays. Children are catered for with their own menu selection to choose from together with a number of suitable choices from the main menu. Tortillas has the largest range of chile sauces in Far North Queensland for sale, some of which can be sampled with meals.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Do It”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Don't do it. This is easily the worst Mexican food I have eaten. I wish I had purchased a Mexican Kit from the supermarket and made it myself, it would have been better. The empanadas were hard and mass produced. The chicken fajitas were absolutely over priced at $28. There was not more than a few tiny pieces of chicken, the tortillas were hard and dry and the sour cream was small and runny.

If you want to eat food that is not fresh, overpriced and out of a jar then this is your place. If you want good authentic Mexican then don't eat here

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    115
    40
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I don't often eat Mexican; the experience made me wonder why. They manage substantial meals with significant flavour and large helpings of great service. Fun sitting alfresco with the charge of the evening passing bye. Be warned large servings! Definitely recommended.

Helpful?
Thank dazza48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food in Port Douglas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I'd have to say I was a little skeptical of this restaurant considering I've lived in Southern California and have had a lot of great Mexican food. But we were not disappointed! We ordered the shredded beef taquitos for an appetizer and they were delicious. The shredded beef was very good and the tortillas were not soggy. I really enjoyed their guacamole too. For the main course I ordered the chicken chimichanga and it was really good. Lots of quality chicken inside the chimichanga. My husband ordered a couple of shredded beef tacos and he enjoyed them as well. We were there on a Saturday night and they were very busy but we got in with no reservations. If you're in the mood for Mexican food and you're in Port Souglas I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrookeAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tasty mexican experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

First had meal here 7 years ago and returned to find food and atmosphere consistently very good. Had the special barramundi ceviche main with salsa and guacamole dips as an entree and would highly recommend both, especially the tortillas and spicy flavours. The tequila cocktail, waiting staff and buzz of the restaurant really complemented the Mexican experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tmnr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
2 reviews
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a handy walk from where we stayed, yummy food, large servings, good for gluten free. Book ahead.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortillas Cocina Mexicana also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing