We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good... But”

Finz Seafood Restaurant and Take Away
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good... But”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at Finz they told us that we needed to wait at least 15 mins, even though there were tons of empty tables. I believe more than half of the restaurant was empty. I wanted to try the food so I decided to wait. Along with another couple that already was waiting. After 15 mins the other couple got a table that was empty all this time, which annoyed me more, since they could've just sat all of us, if they wanted to. We waited around 25 mins. Basically too much unnecessary attitude from the host. Anyhow, that left me with such a sour taste in my mouth. The food was good, but that host and that wait just made my experience not very nice. I would say go and try the food if you have time to kill and don't get easily annoyed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank coffee_tea_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    138
    66
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food; average service.”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We visited here on our final night at Port Douglas. We had been told the food was amazing. This was correct, we started with calamari which was impressive and succulent. For main we had steak and the chicken supreme both were presented beautifully and were delicious. The atmosphere was great we could look over to the main street.
However the service was disappointing the waitress kept calling us "folks" and kept asking us to repeat our order. This was the only thing that could of been improved.
Would recommend to others. Their cocktails are delish

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dannioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We wished we tried this place sooner as we would have eaten here again willingly. Had two entrees: scallops and garlic prawns. Both were amazing. We also tried two deserts and both were good as well. The reason for four stars is something we encountered throughout Australia...having to get wait staff's attention to get the check. Very strange when we're used to most places wanting to turn tables quickly. Also, the table set up in the front was a little odd and left you staring at the people sitting in front of you so you didn't have many places to look.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We decided on Finz and was surprised by how good the food was. Entree and Mains with lashings of cocktails...couldnt fit in desert. Maybe next time. Friendly staff who were very attentive to our needs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One word .... awesome.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is a Port Douglas gem. It offers great quality food at reasonable prices. Try the scallops which are exquisite or the garlic tiger prawns which are cooked in a creamy garlic sauce. The red emperor fillet as the fish of the day is also great. The staff are really friendly and offer great suggestions about the menu and the Port Douglas area. Put this place in your must visit list - its worth every dollar you spend there. I go there every time I visit Port Douglas.

Helpful?
Thank RateNReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finz Seafood Restaurant and Take Away also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing