We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious ”
Review of Mr Soy Boy

Mr Soy Boy
Ranked #12 of 689 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $68
Description: Modern Asian Cuisine. Dine in or takeaway. Open for lunch and dinner 6 days a week. Licensed. Mr Soy Boy takes the best from a variety of Asian cultures and uses fresh, local ingredients and housemade sauces to provide customers the delights of unique modern asian cuisine. Catering for customer’s preferences of chilli and other dietary requests (just ask) means you can sit back and relax, smell the aromas and ready your taste buds!
Restaurant details
Description: Modern Asian Cuisine. Dine in or takeaway. Open for lunch and dinner 6 days a week. Licensed. Mr Soy Boy takes the best from a variety of Asian cultures and uses fresh, local ingredients and housemade sauces to provide customers the delights of unique modern asian cuisine. Catering for customer’s preferences of chilli and other dietary requests (just ask) means you can sit back and relax, smell the aromas and ready your taste buds!
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

Picked from TripAdvisor and picked well. Attentive service backed up by a great choice of cross Asia dishes made this a meal to remember. The hot just hot enough and the portions ideal for sharing. Thank you.

Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanya S, Owner at Mr Soy Boy, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thankyou Martyn, glad you appreciated your meal, Trip Advisor wins again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 279 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

We really appreciate the great tasty food and also very friendly and welcoming service that we received by Mr Soy Boy. He specially made a great dish for our little baby free off charge. The trio was perfect. We also tried his signature dish which was great. Please note the size of the dished were quite generous.

Thank Adel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

After work, with my girlfriend we went for dinner, one friend recommended us the place... but it was much more than the expected.
First when you go to one restaurant you want to get a table soon and see the menu,
It was so quick the waitress was ready waiting for us like a prebook...
second we order some drinks and appetiser it was quick and fresh... after eat this we had a waiting time around 15 minutes until food arrived.
And finally our dinner was so tasty, with a wonderful presentation and good size of plate. We enjoyed our dinner in a relax quite confortable and friendly place.
Highly recommended!
For everyone does not matter age or food wanted very complete menu!
Thanks a lot!
5 starts

Thank Fabrika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanya S, Owner at Mr Soy Boy, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Thankyou for leaving us a great review Fabrika, we work very hard to deliver the best quality and best service possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Is a really good restaurant with excellent service and diferent kind of Asian plates . So but so yummy!!! Totally recommended

Thank Francisca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanya S, Owner at Mr Soy Boy, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear Francisca,
It was a pleasure having you visit us, hopefully we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018

From the outside, this restaurant is quite daggy, and the decor inside is ok but nothing special. So with mains around $30, and all the great reviews, I was expecting something special with the food. I only tried one dish (green curry prawn), and it was good but it was nothing to write home about. The prawns were a good size but they'd been pre-cooked. For the price, I would expect them to be freshly cooked. The curry sauce was different, but not as flavoursome as I expected. For me, the quality of the food didn't warrant the price. The service was good though.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lenore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanya S, Owner at Mr Soy Boy, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear Lenore,
Thank you for the 4 star review. I would like to take this opportunity to address some of your concerns.Firstly, our restaurant is all about the flavours and service. Throughout Asia you will find delicious food in all different locations from high end restaurants to street stalls. How food is presented and taken care of, combined with skill and high quality ingredients is what goes into delicious food, not the surroundings.
Our seafood is all caught locally and is cooked to order. We go through roughly 20kg of prawns alone per week.
We would welcome you to come and see the hours that goes into making our curries, they are our style of curries, which may different to your individual preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Soy Boy also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Mr Soy Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing