We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cairns
Post
Inbox
Search

“Fantastic place for prawnlovers in Cairns”
Review of Prawn Star

Prawn Star
Ranked #24 of 717 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $100
Description: Located at picturesque Cairns, Marlin Marina. Fresh & Local seafood off the trawler. PRAWN STAR - PRAWNS- " A TASTE YOU'LL NEVER FORGET " !!
Restaurant details
Description: Located at picturesque Cairns, Marlin Marina. Fresh & Local seafood off the trawler. PRAWN STAR - PRAWNS- " A TASTE YOU'LL NEVER FORGET " !!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I loved this authentic restaurant on a boat (actually 3 boats) with simple menu (only a couple of seafood dishes like prawns, bugs, oysters etc), great atmosphere, great music and most friendly staff. Loved it and when back in Cairns, this is definitely on top of my list!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank inZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place was recommended by a friend so we had to try it. We weren’t disappointed! Friendly & efficient staff, fresh seafood on a boat. You won’t regret it.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Parrismx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were curious and intrigued by the seafood that Australians called "Bugs" and decided that Prawn Star looked the most authentic. Not a fancy place - three boats tied together - and nothing else available but fresh seafood. It was an awesome experience - and we loved these things called "Bugs" (best way to describe-sorta like crab legs yet sorta like lobster). It was fun and delicious experience, and would highly recommend. We used it as our appetizer and then went on to have a lighter dinner at another restaurant. Platters that others were ordering looked huge - so bring your appetite.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trimojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We walked by this place as we were looking for find lunch somewhere on the dock in Cairns. There are three boats tied up and tables set on each boat. Since we don't get fresh seafood at home, this was a real treat for us. We ordered two plates of the jumbo prawns and they were delicious! We would both recommend coming here and will definitely come back. Nothing complicated here. Fresh seafood on a boat with limited drink options but a good selection of prawns, oysters, bugs, crabs, etc. Fun place!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ChicagoMom847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best seafood we have had in a while!We ordered the big platter to feed our family of 5 and we were not disappointed, fresh and tasty seafood! The atmosphere, food and service were amazing we will definitely be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank kerric160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawn Star also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Prawn Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing