We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent services, beautiful pork belly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Reserve with
Tamarind is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 596 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $73
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Cairns, Tamarind elegantly resides within The Reef Hotel Casino. Renowned in Cairns and throughout North Queensland, this award winning restaurant offers a contemporary menu of generously portioned, Asian fusion dishes that showcase the very best in regional produce. Uncompromising technique combines with seasonally selected ingredients to deliver the Tamarind vision of what great cuisine is. The awarded wine list presents over 100 old and new world varietals, carefully selected to complement menu flavours. The house cocktail list takes inspiration from mod-Asian ingredients to deliver bespoke creations, perfect for before or after. Thai artefacts highlight tasteful decor to establish an eclectic ambiance with understated character. Professional service with relaxed delivery completes the experience. Daily degustation menu with or without tailored wine pairings is a signature offering. Brisbane Times Good Food Guide - One Chefs Hat 2014 Australian Good Food Guide - One Chefs Hat 2014 Gourmet Wine Traveller, Wine List of the Year - One Goblet 2012 Restaurant and Catering Association - Awards for Excellence 2012
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent services, beautiful pork belly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Delicious, especially the pork belly and the barramundi. Great services. Couldn't be happier, would love to come back and try other dishes. Buy the FNQ Entertainment Book to get 25% off the total bill (up to $50).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tipt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    151
    48
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service, food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I went here to celebrate my 21st with my boyfriend. We had the 5 course (with cheese) set menu. Being food lovers we are both very picky about our meals. The stand out for me was the Queensland Spanner Crab & Reef Fish Boudin. It was delish with great flavour! The Penang Curry of Duck, a signature dish, was a bit of a let down as the duck portion was smaller than the pumpkin it was sitting on. The cheese course was what you want in a cheese plate but really, with dessert to go-,it was a bit excessive on my behalf. The Star Anise & Sambucca Parfait was good- but nothing outstanding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CairnsFoodie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rotten fish anyone?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

After my newlywed wife was drowned in the wine we ordered after the waiter knocked it over her I was greeted with a barramundi that smelled as if it had been sitting in the sun all day until deep fried and slapped on my plate. I refused to eat it as it made me nauseous, I was allowed to swap for a lamb shank. Which was very dry and very small resting on a squirt of tangy sauce that wouldn't compliment cardboard. I expected better food from an 'award winning' restaurant, especially having spent over $100 there. Would suggest finer cuisine can be found at the kebab shop down the street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki L, Manager at Tamarind, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Shane777,

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us in Tamarind. It is disappointing to read your experience did not meet expectations on this occasion.

As expressed by the waiter that evening, we are terribly sorry for having spilt wine on your wife’s main meal and trust she enjoyed the meal once it was immediately replaced.

We receive seafood deliveries five days weekly and insist on using only the freshest produce. Perhaps the accompanying tamarind, chilli and garlic sauce was what you noted with the dishes aroma. Our house made sauce does indeed have a fish stock base and distinctive smell. This dish remains one of our most popular main courses.

Your waiter felt that prior to you ordering the replacement lamb option he explained the accompanying sauce with pomegranate and cumin had a distinct flavour which may not suit all tastes, a consideration given the initial complaint concerning the sauce paired with the barramundi. Again, if this wasn’t clearly explained or understood on the evening we are sorry and hope the wine offered as acknowledgement of your concerns with the lamb was enjoyed.

I am also sorry to learn your recent visit to Cairns was made less enjoyable by some poor weather. Our waiter explained you shared that rain had altered your initial holiday plans. I hope that when you do next return to the area you will be able to take full advantage of the great activities the region has to offer and consider returning to Tamarind and allow us to reinstall your faith in our menu and service.

Kind regards
Vicki Levin
Restauant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best dining experience in Cairns!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We ate here because we get discounts through the Accor Advantage Plus program - the food was spectacular! I recommend the Pork Belly! The staff were incredibly helpful with suggestions and wine recommendations- we will definitely return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyS_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Breakfast included at casino”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Breakfast included or would have just gone once. We had cooked and continental buffet.Other choice off menu. Continental buffet small and limited choice,hot buffet lukewarm and had more some days than others,potatoes,mushrooms,sausage(nice)smoked bacon(greasy)scrambled eggs. Coffee machine(pods) to help yourself ask for tea,good sized pot.The staff really make Tamarind, very friendly always smiling and it was Christmas

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank deservepampering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing