We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Indo restaurant in FNQ”

Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 607 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Indo restaurant in FNQ”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Went here for 3rd time. As with previous visits great service, friendly staff and food was delicious. We had poached chicken entree w mango & salad. Mains on yellow curry seafood and duck curry were impossible to split - both fantastic. Have had duck before and each time beautifully cooked and great sauce. If you eat in one place in cairns you must eat here!!

Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    282
    73
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It's worth every single cent!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was the culinary highlight in entire Australia. Need six stars for this award winning restaurant. We had the Balinese menu with all that different and real tasting flavors. Nothing to complain. Really friendly staff?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RTWorld0132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ranked way below !!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We recently stayed for 4 days/3 nights at Cairns. We had dinner at 3 different restaurants each night and the also two lunches at the Esplanade. This restaurant by and far served us the best food and best service as well. The restaurant is bit expensive but everything in Cairns is. And here at least you are happy after the meal.
Our waitress, Jen, was an absolute delight and she was was very helpful in suggesting dishes to us. She even convinced us to try the Crocodile Sate (pronounced Satay) and it did not disappoint. We wished we had space for the desert but no luck. they do have a tasting menu and I would have loved to try it. But I think one needs to book in advance. If you are reading this and have time and are on a couples trip, go for the tasting menu..!
NOTE: The restaurant also serves a cold buffet breakfast. At $15 it is a bit pricey for cold continental brekkie but it is the only place that opens at 6.30 am around that part of Lake Street.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachman2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A rare gem”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Superb, authentic food, attentive service, sublime surrounds: Bayleaf has it all. And it's child-friendly. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceySpicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely night out”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We wanted to go somewhere with decent service and no screens or crowds of backpackers. Although it was bustling Bayleaf Balinese was perfect. The seafood was cooked to perfection and the service was original and attractive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyboyzmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing