We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's worth every single cent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant

Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 592 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It's worth every single cent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was the culinary highlight in entire Australia. Need six stars for this award winning restaurant. We had the Balinese menu with all that different and real tasting flavors. Nothing to complain. Really friendly staff?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RTWorld0132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    266
    71
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ranked way below !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We recently stayed for 4 days/3 nights at Cairns. We had dinner at 3 different restaurants each night and the also two lunches at the Esplanade. This restaurant by and far served us the best food and best service as well. The restaurant is bit expensive but everything in Cairns is. And here at least you are happy after the meal.
Our waitress, Jen, was an absolute delight and she was was very helpful in suggesting dishes to us. She even convinced us to try the Crocodile Sate (pronounced Satay) and it did not disappoint. We wished we had space for the desert but no luck. they do have a tasting menu and I would have loved to try it. But I think one needs to book in advance. If you are reading this and have time and are on a couples trip, go for the tasting menu..!
NOTE: The restaurant also serves a cold buffet breakfast. At $15 it is a bit pricey for cold continental brekkie but it is the only place that opens at 6.30 am around that part of Lake Street.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachman2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A rare gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Superb, authentic food, attentive service, sublime surrounds: Bayleaf has it all. And it's child-friendly. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceySpicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We wanted to go somewhere with decent service and no screens or crowds of backpackers. Although it was bustling Bayleaf Balinese was perfect. The seafood was cooked to perfection and the service was original and attractive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyboyzmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
434 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Wish I Could Bring it Home with Me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We luckily were able to dine multiple times at the Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant since it is based out of the Bay Village Tropical Retreat.

We had several buffet breakfasts before our tours in the morning, and 3 sit down dinners over two different stays at the hotel.

The breakfast buffet is probably the closest to anything American that we saw on our whole trip. 3 different tiered pricing levels allowed you to pick continental, continental with other offerings on the buffet, and the buffet plus different items off the menu, or the menu items alone. All options were great - give the friend rice a try for breakfast with the egg served on top. More than enough for one person. Our only complaint is that they should open up 30 minutes earlier, and we would of eaten breakfast here each day before tours picked us up.

The dinners we had were typical Balinese fare, and were incredible. Servings were large, variety offered was great, and the meals were just like being in Bali!!!!!!! I sampled 3 different items off the dinner menu, and loved each of them. Enjoy the Sate' as a starter, or the large portion is enough for a meal with a side of jasmine rice.

The bar has ample offerings to satisfy most drink needs. The staff was friendly as long as the doors were open. Don't try to sneak in early and expect to be taken care of. We chatted multiple times with the manager, and exchanged some BBQ/Smoking recipes. Bartenders were funny and a great way to wait for your table.

We never had a problem grabbing a table, but we were in the low season, and the place was always packed. It is popular, and I would recommend making reservations if you want to make sure they have a table waiting for you. Large parties are common here, and the service is typical Islander slow, so don't be in a rush.

I can still taste my last dish, it was that good!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeepBlueDives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing