We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 591 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Have not tasted as good a nasi goreng since Bali. Yum!! Not as good but still highly recommend this restaurant. Service was excellent. Had my piccolo sparkling put in a tiny ice bucket. Small details make the experience memorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosieGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    278
    73
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really good Balinese, probably the best resto in Cairns”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Ended up here as a solo traveler after a recommendation from a fellow DiveMaster (thnx Olly!) and having looked at TripAdvisor.

Very polite service, nice surroundings and inside decor and tables outside to sit. Didn't feel "odd" eating by myself as I was in & out in 60' tops.

Tried the sate chiken/lamb/beef skewers (very good) and the fried noodles/chicken with an egg on top (and some fish on the side). Also very good and as spicy as necessary.

Paid $45 and was a very happy customer (for my single night in Cairns). Something different vs all the "backpacker value" places!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaniosBanios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic dinner”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Loved our dinner at the Balinese restaurant. Food was delicious. By far the nicest place to eat in this area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Underwhelming”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

As we were staying in the Bay Village Apartments we thought we would try the restaurant downstairs but takeaway because one of children was sick.

So after spending $150 on soup 3 mains and 3 rices dishes all I can say is it was very underwhelming! After reading the reviews we were expecting a fabulous meal and what we received was a very small and very average meal. The most shocking was undercooked crunchy rice both the plain and the nasi goreng.

After just returning from Bali and eating authentic Indonesian whilst there, the dishes we ordered were nothing like we were expecting. So maybe an off night or is this what the takeaway means? Just a really, really big disappointment.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tfgclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bayleaf - my favourite restaurant”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We don't dine out often, so are very fussy when we do. We have been to Bayleaf on a number of occasions and have always enjoyed ourselves. Great food and great service....Lesley

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesleyH329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing