We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Bliss!”

Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 596 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Anniversary Bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband surprised me with the double cooked duck for our first anniversary :) What an experience! We arrived to friendly staff who went out of their way to ensure that everything about our dining experience was amazing. The atmosphere took me back to Bali (where we celebrated our wedding!), from the smells to the music and as I mentioned, the friendly staff.

The duck was amazing, and catered to my gluten free diet to a tee (apart from the soy sauce condiment, make sure you ask first if you are gluten free). As in Bali, we loved the lemongrass/chilli condiment which the staff happily provided more of. While it wasnt crispy duck as per Balinese cuisine, it was still amazing, with smoky flavours, and a delicious stuffing, well worth ordering ahead. My only warning is this - if there are only the two of you, you will struggle to finish this delicious duck, but well worth the effort to try!

I had the gluten free clove and kaffir lime creme brulee which was heaven in a mouthful!! I tried to share with hubby as it was our anniversary, but I could have polished it off all on my own!! nom nom nom is the best I can say - if you love Balinese cuisine and great service, with atmosphere to match, I must recommend this restaurant to you! A wonderful anniversary for the two of us!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    274
    72
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatton, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We made booking Tuesday evening and the place was well patronized. The restaurant is part of the Bay Village Tropical Resort. The service was great - the waiters seemed passionate about what was on offer. Food came quickly. We ordered seafood sate (sate lilit) and sate & sambal kacang (mixed satays) for entree. Lamb stew kambing mekuah and John got hasil laut panggang $31.50 marinated grilled prawns, squid & fish fillets with yellow rice. We were constantly asked if we wanted more rice which was nice but honestly enough was given to start with. Food sizes were generous and we couldn't fit in dessert. My husband had a lovely Sauvignon Blanc wine with his dinner. No moscato on the wine list :( and I was designated driver. Waitress explained what was on offer as each dish came to the table. Would definately eat here again if staying in Cairns. Very reasonably priced and very tasty. Shame restaurant is located way up other end of town (behind hospital). Only area to improve is seating is a little tight.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pepperina_Alpacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolga, Queensland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband, his daughter, sister, brother-in-law, and myself had a wonderful dinner on Friday night. I had chilli and lime prawns in coconut milk, which was different to what I expected but quite tasty. Everyone else had a set menu which included entree, soup, a selection of mains and some dessert. I would recommend the set menu, especially for people who haven't tried Balinese food before, as this gives you a great range of food to try. The service was great despite the fact that they were busy. The waitress was knowledgable, attentive and friendly. We were seated outside, which was good because it was quite noisy inside due to the number of people dining there.

All in all, it was a great place to eat and we would definitely go back. Hopefully soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Deliscious food. Great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We tried this restaurant for the first time during our many visits to Cairns. It was an absolute delight! The staff were very friendly and helpful in explaining the dishes which they served to the table. The food...it was amazing in flavour and presentation. The quality was tops as well. The atmosphere was very warm and welcoming. The decor was very calming as was the music which was in the background where it should be. You can actually have a conversation with your dinner partner without having to shout....a very welcome change from so many other venues.
The first day we visited this great restaurant for lunch, my husband and I enjoyed the set menu platters. The amount of food was more than adequate and was fantastic value for money. We were so impressed we returned again 2 days later for dinner....meals were perfect again. This will become our regular venue for dining whenever we return to Cairns.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little visit to bali, for my taste buds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yummy as always. My husband lived in bali for a decade and is very picky about paying for Balinese food. He was surprised by how good it was. And I enjoyed the quail very nice my husband had the duck and we rolled out of there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Motherwillowtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing