We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed, disgusted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citysider Holiday Apartments
Ranked #37 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Tully, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed, disgusted”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a shame, we booked 3 nights in what looked clean. modern apartments.
My daughters bedroom so full of dust and the air con full of mould, dead bugs all over her bed, pillow and partly in top of sheets, She got an allergic reaction so bad she spent alot of weekend on lounge, main bedroom aircon full of mould, bed has seen better days, bedhead coming off the wall, cobwebs hanging from wall and all up the corner from floor to wall full of dead bugs.
Strip curtains had mould on them.
Toilet smelt so bad, worse than any public toilet, dryer didnt work properly, vanity tap nearly falling off, bath spout rusted thru, corners of floor filthy.
Daughter slept in lounge for 2 1/2 nights as we managed to clean that aircon and that was the cleanest room in the place. It only took 40 mins to clean the air con, best we could without mould killer.
Kitchen cutlery was filthy and you could see when i cleaned the bench with dish liquid where i cleaned and the professional hadn't. Tap alos wobbly.
$15 a day for internet and if you turned off during that day it was another $15 to go back on ????
Pool toilets locked during pool hours and the office shut so you had to go to other end of complex to apartment, upstairs to 3rd floor to go to toilet or change. Pool area so smelly because it was next to large bin area.
Never going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank townsvillemiss65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citysider, Manager at Citysider Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for your feedback.

It is very unfortunate that you or anybody in your party did not mention any of these complaints while you were at the complex.
You would have had ample opportunities to raise any concerns with either my wife when visiting the office and enquiring about other things or with me when we met either in the pool area or in the driveway.
Almost all the issues you have raised could have been addressed and dealt with properly when they arose, including settling your account before you left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    82
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
112
37
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed in a 2 room apartment in ground floor. The rooms were big, beds comfortable, parking available, very near to central shopping, esplanade, and piers. Full kitchen facilities available with everything clean and nice. Aircons available in all rooms. The caretakers were helpful, friendly and provided excellent guidance on local tourism. Local tour bookings are also done by the caretakers saving time and effort.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartment, canal side has nice big balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddy_D_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good sized and well kept apartments, about 15 - 20 mins walk from the boat marina and beach. Run by Therese and Walter who have excellent knowledge on local tours, shops, etc. When we return to Cairns we will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Home away from home. The two bedroom apartment offers great value and spacious enough for family of five. The unit was cleaned and with a well equipped kitchen. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool a lot. The property managers are very friendly and helpful to provide useful advice on tours that we were interested. It takes about 10 mins -15 mins walk to Cairns Central Shopping Mall and another 10-15mins walk to Esplanade.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyPNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in 2 bed roomed top floor (2 storey) apartment. Plenty of room for the three of us, kitchen and washing facilities fine. Close to the airport and within walking distance of the city centre. The managers are great, nothing was too much trouble. The evening display by the giant fruit bats is awesome. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancsuk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in this place for 5 nights and the place is really good! The apartment is big with all you need in the kitchen and laundry. However, we found lots of ants around the bath tub and kitchen table (even a little cockroach). We have talked to the manager and she gave us pesticides to spy around. We are satisfied with that and we just need to keep the place clean and tidy with no leftover food after we cook every day. The apartment is located in the edge of Cairns city centre, but it is just 5 mins drive to the centre. You can also walk to the city, but it may take you 15-20 mins. The manager is helpful. If you are going to reef, please do talk to her and she will tell you which day will be the best to go! The day that she recommended was a sunny day with slow wind. We never thought that wind would be a big problem! We really appreciate about that! We are highly recommended you to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was most impressed with the professionalism and courteousy of the managers. Even though we had a large party of young men they still made us welcome. After a few initial complaints of noise on the first night ( which is mainly conjusive to the close knit design and cement rendering) things flowed well from there. Apartments are clean and well maintained. Plenty of space and the pool area is very good. A short 15 to 20 minute walk to the main shopping areas or a $7 to $8 taxi ride. Very cheap. All in all a very good stay and would recommend highly

Room Tip: No elevators so get ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jethro1on1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#44 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Terraces Cairns
City Terraces Cairns
#48 of 85 in Cairns
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#17 of 85 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
0.8 mi away
Tropic Towers Apartments
Tropic Towers Apartments
#43 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citysider Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citysider Holiday Apartments

Property: Citysider Holiday Apartments
Address: 17A Upward St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citysider Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan, modern city of Cairns is set in the heart of Tropical North Queensland, Australia. Cairns is the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, pristine World Heritage Rainforest, the scenic waterfalls of the Atherton Tablelands and an abundance of sun soaked beaches and islands. Staying at The Citysider Cairns Holiday Apartments with its Resort Facilities less than 10 minutes from the airport, casino and hundreds of shops, restaurants and cafes, is all about affordability, accessibility, comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Citysider Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing