We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveler rating
127
88
13
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
88
13
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskuranda scenictwo bedroom apartmentwashing machine and dryerpool areano liftminute walkwithin walking distancevisiting cairnseasy walkgood sizeliving areastayed for nightsair conhostsaccommodationesplanadekitchen
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 240 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Our unit was one of the rear ones which overlooked the park. The Kuranda tourist train goes past at 8.30 am and 9.30 am and returns 3.30 pm and 4.30 pm. For us this was a positive feature as we enjoy heritage trains, The apartment was clean, and well serviced. Therese and Walter were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. They always had time to share information and local knowledge without any pressure. The location was close to town, but still quiet, within walking distance to the shops and on a bus route. We would have no hesitation in staying there again and would strongly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights and thought it was perfect. Therese welcomed us on arrival with a bottle of bubbly and was extremely helpful and friendly during our stay (not once did she forget either of my children's names and always stopped for a chat as we were coming and going). The room was very clean and very well equipped. We found the complex to be very quiet, not hearing our neighbours or any street noise at all during our stay. We were given ideas on what to do while in Cairns (including a trip to Rusty's fruit and veg market which I loved) and Therese supplied us with numerous discount vouchers to the local attractions we visited. I will definately stay here again when next travelling to Cairns and will be recommending it to anyone else I who goes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked in for 3 nights and stayed for 2. We stayed in unit 28 which was an unfortunate experience. The neighbours were totally inconsiderate loud music, tv blaring until very late at night, visitors up and down the stairs talking extremely loud in their foreign language. I noted an earlier review had warned that 28 was not a good room. The tenants in 29 are permanent and obviously manage to persuade holiday makers to move on through their behaviour and rudeness.The carpets in the bedrooms were old worn and smelt but I felt the room wasn't tenated often because of the neighbours. The hosts were extremely polite and kind and I am not sure what they can do but if I were them I would definetly think twice about booking anyone into room 28..

Room Tip: not room 28
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here a month ago with my brother and sister in law. The apartment was lovely, clean and well equipped. Walter was extremely helpful and good humoured. The beds were comfortable and there was a washing machine and tumble dryer in the apartment as an added bonus. There was also a very nice outside chill out area, although we never got a chance to make use of it as we were only in Cairns for a few days with a jam packed schedule. We found the price very reasonable for the type of accommodation this is, I would recommend Citysider to anyone wanting a relaxing stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Once again we stayed at Cityside this time for 2 weeksr, it was such a lovely welcome from Therese when we arrived, We booked unit 4 as it was on the ground floor and had a walk-in shower which was ideal for my elderly Mum who has trouble with stairs and getting in and out of a bath. This apartment is great for anyone who can't manage stairs.
The furniture had been changed since our last stay and was very comfortable, everything was spotlessly clean.
The kitchen had everything we needed and we cooked most evening meals in the apartment, and once we got used to the electric cooktop everything was great. Just remember this is a "self catering" apartment so you need to shop for the things you need, all utensils are proveded but you need to supply your own food etc. Tea and Coffee and a bottle of champagne were provided on arrival to get you started.
We found that the Bi-low store in Cairns Central shopping centre and Rustys Market (Sheridan St in the CBD, open Fri, Sat, and Sun) provided everything we needed at prices not much higher than Melbourne. both are walkng distance, Cairns Central about 10 mins and Rustys Market about 20 minutes.
The reception area has all the brochures for day trips and sight seeing and Therese and Walter will happily give you as much information as you need, to have a most enjoyable stay, and will book tours for you.
We can't recomment Citysider highly enough and we would definitely stay there and again and recomment friends to also stay there. Thanks Therese and Walter, see you again soon.

Room Tip: Unit 4 ideal for anyone who has difficulty with stairs, its on the ground floor and has a walk in shower.there is only one small step at the front and it straight out on to the small patio at the back, and only a very small distance to the allotted car space via the rear sliding door.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews