We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy meals with great ambience”

Coolums on the Beach Beachfront Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $22 - $89
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
sydney
Level Contributor
199 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Yummy meals with great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We ate outside while watching the moon rise. A million-dollar experience for a fraction of the price of Sydney.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chris19531955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Coolums on the Beach has closed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Coolums on the Beach has closed. It's gone gone gone. There is a pleasant little beach bar/restaurant next door.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Stalk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced and the staff weren't over friendly.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Great location. Good food but poor service. I think it has now closed down.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CarolynfromCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stopped at Coolums after a fabulous weekend in Port Douglas, and the location seemed lovely. The menu was limiting, which I like as it usually suggests that they know what they do well, but this was not the case for our visit. I orfered one of the specials, the Laksa (Which is one of my favourite meals and make/order it often) and my husbane decided to try the steak.
We were both disspointed with the meals. To begin, I didn't get offered a spoon or chopsticks, so it was my first case of eating a Laksa with a fork.....Not recommended! The seafood in the soup was very overcooked- the prawns were dry, tough and chewy. The steak wasn't much better, ordered rare it was medium. The 'mushroom jus' that was to accompany the steak was thin, greasy and only seemed to be there under the chips - So not adding to the flavour of the steak at all. We won't be back, especially for te price, we have had better meals in a local pub at a quarter of the price!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michnruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

I ate at Coolums twice while in Holloways Beach and the setting is fabulous, sitting their with a drink right on the beach, you cannot get better than this. The food was good, not fabulous & for the price I guess I expected a little better. Also you had to order vegetables if you wanted something to go with your meat. I am not a big fan of restaurants that do this. The total experience here was very good though.

Helpful?
Thank tristar91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coolums on the Beach Beachfront Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Holloways Beach, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing