We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great brick oven pizza”
Review of Rattle N Hum

Rattle N Hum
Ranked #63 of 591 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $4 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great brick oven pizza”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We really like this place and have been several times. The food is always good and we like the atmosphere. The Peter Lik photos on the walls are great. The service is not always good but we can let that slide because we like the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valhalla24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    347
    155
    85
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outdoors on the Esplanade”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Busy place. Find a table then order food at the kitchen and drinks at the bar. The buzzer they give you signals when the food is ready. Food was good and location is entertaining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

After cooking for ourselves all week we decided to splash out on a meal out. We chose Rattle N Hum after walking the Esplanade, attracted by the atmosphere and pizza which we could see on the diners plates. Well the atmosphere was great, but I certainly wouldn't return for the food. In fact my teenagers have never rejected pizza before but they did that night. The base was so thin it was like singed paper, and as another reviewer said, sandwich sliced ham on a restaurant pizza is just wrong! The pizza was tasteless and the ingredients cheap. My husband's steak was poor quality and my own calamari salad was essentially just a bag of salad mix with some crumbed calamari on top. My usual test for a restaurant is - could I have done the food better myself at home. In this case the answer was a resounding "yes".

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Busy spot on the Esplanade”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We caught up with friends here, it's a really busy spot but the service is fast and friendly. Drinks are reasonably priced. We grabbed a pesto pizza bread which was pretty good. There isn't much to eat here if you are a vegetarian, next time would probably just go for drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wynita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal with lovely service even though it was an order at the bar set up . Great pizzas and reasonably priced drinks in a lovely atmosphere - would recommend for a few drinks and a decent bite . Well done for such lovely staff .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmcjaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rattle N Hum also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Rattle N Hum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing