We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful taste orgasm”
Review of Ochre Restaurant - MOVED

Ochre Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Celebrating its 22nd birthday in April 2016, Ochre Restaurant is a local dining institution. Imaginative native food including emu, kangaroo and crocodile as well as a good sampling of Pacific rim-inspired dishes can be found here. An excellent wine list and efficient service. Ochre Restaurant makes dining out a sensory adventure.
Cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful taste orgasm”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My mum asked me, after sharing some starters and desserts tonight to celebrate her pending 78th birthday, if there was such thing as a food orgasm!! The taste sensations of the dishes we shared are so unique to Nth Qld that I will be looking for similar produce from now on. We were really impressed with the service and all round. Mum is from South Australia where local produce is very different - we both recommend this restaurant to visitors and locals

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    211
    83
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snug, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome anniversary dinner”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

From the lovely table in the window to the beautiful dessert wine this was a fantastic night out for two avid foodies. Everythine we ate was superb, and I would love the recipe for the red prawn curry on the seafood platter. Catered for gluten free without even rolling their eyes! Happy to answer any questions, the wait staff were friendly and attentive. One small point would be to ensure that new wait staff know the menu thoroughly. Would come again in a heartbeat, if it weren't for the day's flying to get to you. Fancy moving to Hobart?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect night”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The venue is sweet and small but very clean and well decorated, and the food is absolutely out of this world. I ordered the wallaby whilst my partner order the beef tenderloin, both were fantastic, portions looked small however it is deceiving as we struggled to finish both our dishes. The staff are friendly and have so much knowledge on the wines and the food which is extremely impressive. I could have not asked for a better night. Thank you ochre.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geroge4982
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Did not live up to reputation”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Came here for lunch with a friend after wanting to try it for months, and although it was alright it did not live up to it's reputation. I was expecting a lot more from the food. For starters I had a dozen oysters (3 different styles) which were amazing and my friend had the pork belly and scallops which she raved about. After that though I had a seafood platter and she had a game platter and both left a bit to be desired. Her meat was cold and flavorless while my platter was average. The service was good. I will give it another try at some point on hopes it was an off day in the kitchen but won't be recommending it as much as I did before giving it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geroge4982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant we did in Australia”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very nice place. Delicious food for and lovely staff and service. They let us taste between different wines All o choose which on we prefer, very nice ! Recommended if you come here and can afford it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cédric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ochre Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing