We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bugs are to die for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ochre Restaurant - MOVED

Ochre Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Celebrating its 22nd birthday in April 2016, Ochre Restaurant is a local dining institution. Imaginative native food including emu, kangaroo and crocodile as well as a good sampling of Pacific rim-inspired dishes can be found here. An excellent wine list and efficient service. Ochre Restaurant makes dining out a sensory adventure.
Cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bugs are to die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Bugs are to die for, and a good read of the ingredients is essential. Sadly, the other mains were warm at best. Service and wine were excellent and highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CairnsDave2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    211
    83
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everyone must visit Ochre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I had dinner there one evening during our trip to Cairns from New Zealand. We all had amazing dishes. We tried the bay bugs and they were so flavorful, I had the tuna 3 ways as my main and that was everything I expected and more. The dishes were perfect sizing and the price was a little above average but who's isn't happy to pay for great food! I would 100% recommend everyone visit Ochre.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank youngkiwicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Taste of Australia ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

HIGHLY RECOMMEND! My husband and I treated ourselves to the "taste of australia" tasting menu as our 'fancy' dinner during our honeymoon. We wanted to try mod oz, picked Ochre based on what we read in several guidebooks, and we're so glad we did. The food was great. The wait staff were incredibly friendly. When they learned it was our honeymoon, they made us a special dessert. We were so touched! And it was delicious! Our server explained each dish and came by to make sure we were ok several times (without being intrusive - a delicate balance!).
Note: If you make a reservation far in advance, make sure to confirm. We made our reservation more than three months in advance and they didn't have it in their book. We told them we were on our honeymoon and that we had booked so far in advance because we were so excited about their reviews and were immediately accomodated. But we did have a small moment of panic.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drea2399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Thanks again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have never had a bad experience at Ochre. This owner chef pushes the envelope with flavours and ingredients to create a unique experience. Like most of Cairns they were booked out, but they simply checked their reservation book, obviously did some time calculations and led us to a table with no further fuss. The service is always warm, and honest, as with one waitress last night, who admitted it was her first night. She did just fine, every order followed through on, no mistakes. More importantly, we noticed she was quietly, cleverly guided and supported behind the scenes by a staff member we later found out is named Davina, a supervisor who originally fooled us. We'd concluded she was an owner, so passionate and involved and attentive!! The entrees of gnochi (declared by "the Italian" to be the best gnochhi he'd ever had) and signature dish of bug with papaya salad, just superb. The mains of duck curry, good and ample serve, too big to finish; and Morganbury almond crumbed pork, never thought I'd write "melt in your mouth" for a pork dish, nicely matched with kumera cake and marinated spinach. A great, broad wine list, and a buzzy, happy restaurant all around us. We'd never sat inside before, but it was just as much fun as outside. And to the owners, not only thanks, but hold on to that Davina :) Any staff member who behaves as a proud owner would is invaluable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J0hnnyG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We tried several restaurants in Cairns and Orche was by far the best. The service was great, I loved having kitchen staff bring out the plates and explain the content. This restaurant has a real foodie vibe most of the ingredients are sourced locally and this is indicated on the menu. It was a lot of hype to live up to amd the food did not disappoint. You must try the Bay Bug starter, devine!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChipperTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ochre Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing