We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for money”
Review of Ochre Restaurant - MOVED

Ochre Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Celebrating its 22nd birthday in April 2016, Ochre Restaurant is a local dining institution. Imaginative native food including emu, kangaroo and crocodile as well as a good sampling of Pacific rim-inspired dishes can be found here. An excellent wine list and efficient service. Ochre Restaurant makes dining out a sensory adventure.
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not good value for money”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We ordered the seafood platter, which was $66 each. The service was good, so was the ambience of the restaurant and the wine was nice. However the food was downright disappointing. The entree arrived and it was combination of tempura (battered) prawns, fish and calamari with a selection of mismatched sauces which combined made me feel sick. Too much batter! Then the main (so to speak) arrived which comprised of 2 heavily battered small bugs and ONE small piece of snapper which was overcooked. It was accompanied to my astonishment with a small bowl of soggy chips and salad. Lucky we dont eat much anyways but I still felt sick from all the batter. The bill for 3 wines, 2 coffees and the platter was $170.... I dont mind spending that on a great meal but it was far from that unfortunately. Locals that wont be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    211
    83
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious - a gastronomic treat!”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The unusual and interesting food combinations delighted 3 committed carnivores and one virtuous vegetarian. The food was beautifully presented, served with professional panache and devoured with gusto. The desserts were stunning especially the pavlova which, on it's own, would have been worth the long drive into town from Edge Hill! As four locals we were pleasantly surprised to realise that this is a restaurant to go on our top dining-out destinations list as a regular haunt. In a word - fabuloso.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicaltraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Nice food”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This restaurant was a stand out simply by reading about it. Unusal foods on the menu such as crocodile and wallaby. I had the Kangaroo and it was fantastic. A friend tried the Croc and another had the gnocchi. We did have one disappointing meal, the seafood platter, which the staff were very appologetic about and we were very happy with the way it was handled. Good overall.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarlyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were here over the Easter period and had kangaroo steak which was nicely done, but accompanied by a large, oily potato fritter house, we also had the shrimp and crocodile steak which was done really well, if on the small side, with preserved veg that wasn't too exciting, and for starters dukka and damper.
No room for dessert unfortunately, would have liked to try the "chocolate s lut"! Overall a good meal, and good service. The coffee is also quite good. Only thing is that when sitting outside, you're right beside a busy road so there's not much of a view.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krazypath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We went to Ochre yesterday for lunch. We ordered 3 courses and all were fantastic! The service was outstanding - Thanks Davina. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Tempura bugs, pork belly and scallops, crocodile and prawns - All outstanding. Will definitely be returning to Ochre soon!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ochre Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing