We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay in Room 102”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor in Cairns
Ranked #32 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently stayed six nights at the Grosvenor. The rooms were spacious and had everything we needed-except to say that whenever we used the AC,a pump would come on and make a loud noise. We contacted management who did offer us another room,but by then we had settled into our room and we decided not to move.
We stopped using the AC 30-45 mins before we went to bed to give time for the pump to stop working and stop making the loud noise.
Also, the TV had really bad sound and after about 30mins, the noise became muffled and difficult to hear.

We had a mixed opinion about staying at the Grosvenor-it is close to a supermarket and takeaway places,but the noise from the AC and the tv meant we would not stay there again.
Also,if the wind was blowing in a certain direction it meant that planes were flying very low over the hotel as they were coming into land-again very noisy

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bundle38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Grosvenor in Cairns and we are glad that you found the apartment spacious and containing everything you needed. The pump on the air-conditioner was found to be faulty and was replaced soon after you checked out. As soon as the problem was bought to our attention we made inquiries about having the pump replaced but found out that it would have to be ordered in and would take about a week to arrive so we offered to immediately move you to another ground floor apartment with a balcony and that we would move all you luggage etc across for you but you declined that offer. We have checked the TV and there appears to be nothing wrong with the sound. We have had 19 other guests stay in Apartment 102 since you departed and none have made any adverse comment in relation to the TV.
In relation to planes flying overhead; yes if the wind is blowing from the north planes landing at the airport do fly directly over the Cairns CBD on appooach to the airport and unless you are staying :out of town" then it will seem like they are flying straight over the top of you; believe me, it's noisier in some of the high rise hotels and apartment complexes closer to the airport but it only last a few seconds each time and does not happen at night.
Anne and I are sorry that your stay with us did not completely meet your expectations and would gladly have you stay with us again so that we can try to improve on our service to you the next time around - Brian and Anne (on-site managers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor in Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 138 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed 10 nights at the Grosvenor Apartments early in September. We had an online special which included discounted accommodation and a dinner voucher at a nearby Italian restaurant which was very good value. Both Brian and Anne were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about all the attractions and tours available in Cairns and gave us a lot of useful advice and recommendations. Brian's help with our damaged suitcase as we were checking out (extender handle became stuck and would not retract) was very much appreciated... going well above and beyond the call of duty - eventually using a hacksaw and tape to enable safe air transport. Our lower floor, self-contained,1 bedroom apartment was clean and spacious and had a large outside balcony which was used regularly for outside dining. The beds were comfortable and the cooking facilities and equipment were very good. The bathroom was a little small and dated but was quite adequate. Clean towels were available daily (if required) and rubbish removal occurred daily also. The grounds, pool and tropical gardens were very tidy and well maintained. The Grosvenor was about 2kms out of the City Centre - a flat, easy walk but quite a distance (and we are good walkers). The shops nearby (small supermarkets, take away places, bakery etc) are very handy and we used them often (we particularly recommend the apple log cake from the bakery!). Our room was quiet at night but be prepared to hear overhead planes from around 6am (depending on the wind direction) but its usually sunny and warm early anyway and the mornings are beautiful - we were very lucky with the weather the entire time. Overall, a very positive stay...we loved Cairns, the Reef, the Atherton Tablelands and the Daintree and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your positive comments about your accommodation and our service to you.
Our website only 'Hot Deal' is great value for just the accommodation but then there are the added bonuses of the Restaurant Voucher, arrival transfer by taxi and the tour booking discounts.
The suitcase was a bit of a challenge to make safe but it amazing what you can do with a hacksaw and a bit of duct tape; I'm glad i was able to assist.
Over the last 3 years we have replaced all of the 'old' cane living room furniture, updated all the TV's to flat screen digital LCD TV's, repainted every apartment and now we have just re-carpeted all apartments ..... the bathroom's are "okay" but do need updating and they are next on the list!
We are always happy to see the return of past guests and so look forward to your next visit ... and remember .... the best deal you will get will always be by booking with us over the phone or by email (if you are happy to book online please make sure you do so via OUR website and not an online booking agent pretending to be our website) - Brian and Anne (on-site managers).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There were three of us, one from Canada and my husband and me from Sydney. We booked online two rooms. There are three floors in this apartment building but no lift which was difficult as we are all over 70. The rooms were clean, the beds good but the bathrooms were in some need of repair. One good thing was that there is a guest laundry for only $3 per load. Unfortunately a vehicle is needed to get into the main Cairns area. This distance is a mixed blessing as if you don't want the night life the apartment building is in a quiet area. Management was very helpful but I probably would not book this facility again.

Room Tip: Ask which floor your room would be on.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsw203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments about the apartments being clean and comfortable are appreciated.
In relation to the set up of the complex; yes there is no lift and we always try to make that obvious to potential guests, however if guests book through a travel agent we receive very little information about the guests apart from booking dates and names and we receive no contact details. In situations where we are able to communicate with guests we always ask about which floor they would prefer to be on (ground floor apartments have balconies,but the apartments on the 2nd and 3rd floor tend to be brighter and quieter). We also assist guests with their luggage whenever we can.
We do like the fact we we are just out of the CBD; it's much quieter at night away from the night clubs and 'noisy' people in the CBD. There is a public bus stop 100 metres away ($2 and 7 minutes into the city) and a taxi will cost about $9 and take 5 minutes.
Brian and Anne (on-site managers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Took a family vacation in Cairns, decided to pick Grosvenor due to good reviews from TripAdvisor. The apartment we took was nice and spacious, well located and close to some groceries and food joints. Though it was a very brief stay for the 5 of us, the thing worth mentioning here is the help we received from Ann, who was very knowledgeable about the tour options we can take, and patiently addressed the queries we had and made our stay a very pleasant one. I would definitely return in the near future.

The pool looked good, but was moderate sized, never got a chance to take a quick dip as one particular family just hogged the place every evening during our whole stay. Also, there was no lift n we were on the 3rd floor, so tht was a long way up with heavy suitcases we were carrying.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors would be better as there is no lift. Also, not much of a view to miss out on.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikhil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do appreciate your comments about your accommodation and the help you received from Anne to help you pick just the "right" tours for you - Brian and Anne (on-site managers).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Wife and I took a 7 day break from the winter hustle and bustle of Sydney life and flew to Cairns for some Aussie sun. Stayed at Grosvenor In Cairns as a result of Trip Advisor. Met both Brian and Ann who manage the place and have to say they looked after us pretty well. Nothing was a problem and made our stay enjoyable and relaxing. Brian and Ann gave us tips and ideas of places to go and see, things to do, where to go and where to stay away without that 'hard sell' that you become wary of. Accommodation was very clean, comfortable, well supplied and real value for money. Bus stop only 50metres away and buses take you anywhere you want to go, either north to Palm Cove, south to Cairns Central or west to Earlville Stocklands. Easy walking distance to Cairns Central and all the restaurants, night life and Lagoon. Two mini supermarkets,liquor shop and free use of 24 hr gym right across the road. Thanks for a great stay and making our short break relaxing. Will return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for your review and comments. Your comments about your accommodation and our service to you are appreciated. Although we try to give our guests as much information and assistance as possible we are always aware of not "overpowering guests with information or any 'hard sell' tactics. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you next visit Cairns (and remember to contact us directly by phone or email for the best possible deal) - Brian and Anne (on-site managers).


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My friend and I had five lovely warm, sunny days in Cairns. Brian gave us great advice about some trips, and we enjoyed a swim in the not-too-heated pool most days. Location was central for accessing the Esplanade, Restaurants, shopping, etc. Great meals at the Cock and Bull and Tandoori Nights just down the street. Rooms were clean and well supplied, staff always helpful and obliging. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Anne and I appreciate your positive comments (as do our housekeeping staff who we pass these commets onto).
The pool is solar heated and in summer we have to turn the solar heating off as the pool will heat up to over 30 degrees. In winter it loses heat at night when the temperature drops to about 15 to 18 degrees but the dry, sunny days do allow us to keep the pool temperature up around 23 to 25 degrees instead of the 18 to 20 degrees it would be without it. - Brian and Anne (on-site managers).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

There were five of us adults and we shared a double apartment which was great. Plenty of room with kitchen facilites and laundry and 2 bathrooms. Very clean and tidy. Close to everything including mini mart and liquor store. Also Cock and Bull just down the road where we had the best crocodile burgers ever!!- easy walking to most places. Brian was most helpful in everything that we asked of him. We never used the pool as the weather was not hot enough fou to do so. We were leaving there to go to Cooktown and coming back to Cairns after days enroute to Townsville and he said he would do us a great deal if we wanted to stay back with him if we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our 2 bedroom apartments are terrific value for large families; they are large enough to be able to add an extra bed or two if required with there still being plenty or room relax in (and the 2nd bathroom is appreciated by all guests). The nearby restaurants, bottle shop and supermarket are very convenient for our guests and yes, the Cock & Bull Hotel (250 meters away) is "great value", with good quality 'enormous' meals. We appreciate your positive comments - Brian and Anne (on-site managers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#45 of 64 in Cairns
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#30 of 84 in Cairns
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Plaza Apartments Cairns
0.1 mi away
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor in Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor in Cairns

Address: 186 McLeod Street | Corner Grove Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $83 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor in Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor in Cairns is the perfect venue for your holiday or business trip to Cairns in Tropical North Queensland. Affordable, spacious, clean, comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom, fully self contained holiday apartments set in a tropical garden setting complete with solar heated pool/spa. Studios (no cooking facilities - but Studios do contain a microwave oven)are also available. The resident on-site managers will provide every assistance from booking tours to finding a good restaurant. NEW- WiFi internet access is now totally FREE in all apartments and outside areas. The 24 hour a day - 7 days a week gym / fitness center located only 200 meters away is also now totally FREE for all of our guests to use during their stay. Resdtaurants, Hotel, Supermarket, Bottle Shop, Take Away (Pizza, Fish & Chips, Chinese, Thai, Kebabs) all within 250 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor in Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing