We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely memorable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grosvenor in Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grosvenor in Cairns
Ranked #32 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truely memorable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having been to Cairns before, my partner and I found the Grosvenor after a few terrible experiences of other accommodation in Cairns, we completely fell in love with location, the room, the value and the staff. We will not book anywhere else from now on.
The location is perfect a short walk and you reach the Esplanade, and a 10-15 minute walk from there you reach the main stretch where the lagoon is and good restaurants, and from there you are in the CBD. Your are also only a short walk to Cairns Central, the main shopping centre in the city. Across the road from the complex is a bottle shop, IGA, Night Owl, Pizza Ht and a few other eateries. There is a bus stop just out side that takes you on a short trip to the beaches. The views from the apartments are lovely, the rolling hills on the out skirts of Cairns.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that was light, spacious, spotless and fully equipped with everything you would need. The whole apartment was air-conditioned and decorated to a high standard. Even though is was quite full when we stayed, you would never believe it, lovely and quiet. The value is amazing!
The complex itself has nice communal area where you can sit have a drink and a BBQ, we often found guests to talk to. It has lovely solar heated swimming pool with sun loungers, the communal areas are cleaned daily and kept clean, it is nice for somewhere to take so much pride.
The owners, Anne and Brian, were so friendly and accommodating, assisting us with tour information and us choosing the right tour for us, which you you don't get if you to one f the travel agent in the city. They have done alot of the tours themselves, which you would expect for someone selling you a tour. They were always happy and friendly and asked how your day had been.
I do not have any complaint about this place, our trip was enjoyable and memorable and we would definitely stay again and advise any travellers to stay here.

Room Tip: One bedrooms are fantastic, they give you the extra space and a fully equipped kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear George S93 - Thank you for your review and your kind comments; Anne and I try to make sure the stay of every guest is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We are proud of Grosvenor in Cairns as a holiday apartment complex but are continually working hard to ensure the standard of the apartments and the facilities in general are 'improved' upon year after year. Over the last 12 months we have replaced all of the older style cane living room furniture, all of the old TV's and all of the curtains in every apartment. We are now embarking upon a complete re-paint of every apartment and we hope to have that all completed by early 2013. We look forward to your return to Cairns sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    45
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
49
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Thanks for make our weekend so enjoyable , and for all your help with the tours and rental car etc etc ... :)

The place is nice and close to everything you may need , the rooms are clean and big , the staff is really helpful.
We really had a nice holiday !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieBP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear AngeBP1,
Thank you for your review. Anne and I remember you well, so happy and cheerful, it was a pleasure to look after your needs re tours and the hire car. We hope to have you stay with us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our 1 bedroom apartment was neat and clean and the kitchen well stocked with cutlery. Very obliging and hospitable hosts, Brian and Anne. Will recommend the Grosvenor to any traveller.
The underground car park just adds value to the property.
The Esplanade is just a short distance by taxi. In fact we did walk it out - about 30mts.

However, the problem we had was the washing machine never worked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErrolDubai_UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

At check in we were given a great run down on the range of shops within 200m which met all our basic requirements- 4 or more eating establishments, liquor store, 2 grocery stores , deli with good coffee etc. as well as details of very close bus stops for public transport use. Our one bedroom apartment was spacious and provided washing machine, dishwasher and all the comforts of home. From the balcony we were serenaded by a Willy-wagtail (bird) and I saw my first Black faced Cuckoo Shrike (bird) for many years. At the front desk trips were arranged to see the highlight of the area and everything was no problem.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies. The area was always quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maffa1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently travelled to Cairns with two other couples, each staying in a 1 bedroom apartment.The apartments were comfy, clean & had lots of space.
Brian & Anne went out of their way to help us with everthing, including extensive information on attractions, amenities, tours, transport and even booking our selected tours at no extra cost. A huge thanks to them for their friendly professional service. We would definately stay there again & also recommend it to others. Pat & John

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here to unwind. Excellent facilities. Lovely friendly hosts. Clean rooms and building. Large choice of restaurants nearby. Will go back and stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Grosvenor for 4 nights. We had a 1 bedroom apartment which was a big, bright and very accomodating room with everything we ever needed. Great to be able to relax in the large comfortable open plan rooms after seeing the sights of cairns. A big thankyou to Brian (the Owner) for all the local info on attractions and being knowledgeable towards activities, (including supplying us with a bag and towels for our day on the reef). Look forward to returning here with our children next time!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firstbutnotlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#22 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
City Terraces Cairns
City Terraces Cairns
#49 of 89 in Cairns
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairns Central Apartments
0.4 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#15 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor in Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor in Cairns

Property: Grosvenor in Cairns
Address: 186 McLeod Street | Corner Grove Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor in Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor in Cairns is the perfect venue for your holiday or business trip to Cairns in Tropical North Queensland. Affordable, spacious, clean, comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom, fully self contained holiday apartments set in a tropical garden setting complete with solar heated pool/spa. Studios (no cooking facilities) are also available. The resident on-site managers will provide every assistance from booking tours to finding a good restaurant. NEW- WiFi internet access is now totally FREE in all apartments and outside areas. The 24 hour a day - 7 days a week gym / fitness center located only 200 meters away is also now totally FREE for all of our guests to use during their stay. Resdtaurants, Hotel, Supermarket, Bottle Shop, Take Away (Pizza, Fish & Chips, Chinese, Thai, Kebabs) all within 250 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grosvenor in Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing