We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well situated, but not the best hostel ever” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Global Backpackers Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Global Backpackers Central
Ranked #70 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well situated, but not the best hostel ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 4 nights.
We were in a 4 bed dorm. They are bunkless so this is a good point, everyone sleeps in a good bed. They just give you one sheet, no blanket. The 3 first night, it was very cold as they always leave the air con on, and you can switch off by yourself so it is annoying. We asked the reception to turn it off as they didn't want to give us blankets, but they couldn't even turn it off!!!! Finally, for the last night they gave us a blanket !
Rooms were very dirty, they don't vacuum under the bed, we found some clothes which weren't ours.
The hostel is pretty quiet which is good.
Bathrooms are TERRIBLE. Toilets are cleaned once a day i think, this is disgusting and smelly. Showers are cleaned once too, and they are very dirty...
We had a pretty bad experience with the kitchen, we wanted to boil some water, but the cattle weren't working, so we decided to do it on gas, but we needed a lighter to start it BUT we don't smoke.... So that was really annoying.
Location is perfect, 15 minutes walk from the bus station, and the shuttle to the airport stops just in front of the backpack.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    33
    31
    19
    32
See reviews for
1
28
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Upon arriving at Global Backpackers at around 6pm, we were given the key to our room. We had rented out a private, as it was my last night in Australia and I wanted to enjoy it and sleep well. We walked into the room and found that the beds were not made, and that there was someone else's puke on my pillow. When I went downstairs to complain, the staff were more concerned with how this could have happened, as opposed to rectifying the situation. The room they finally put us in was not even much better, as the floor was sticky and we found areas that were so dirty we didn't even want to know what happened there previously.

The bathrooms are a five minute walk from your room, and looked like they haven't been cleaned since 2010. They smell like it too. We were extremely disappointed. The only good thing about this hostel was its location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed in a 3 shared room (not even the cheapest) and just wanted to leave the next morning.
After me and my friend checked in nobody helped us finding our room, kitchen or the toilets. My friend had to change her bedsheets on her own, because they have been used and dirty. I should have checked mine too, old blood everywhere
The hostel is not very social and the fact that you are not allowed to drink alcohol makes it very hard to meet people and for example the balcony closes at 9 even worst. You have to walk all the way out to get some air. (No alcohol, still a really noisy hostel and it still smelled like piss on the hallway at night)
The staff at the reception reacted really rude about our problems.
In the end i can say that Global Backpackers Central is the worst hostel i have been to so far.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed at a private double, which was clean, with a good fan and aircon. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this is not for you as the rooms are right at a main hallway and you can hear everything as all noise just echos. Balcony was nice and the location is right in Cairns so it's easy to get to everything (pubs, woolworths etc). Plus they give vouchers for 50% of meals at a local pub which was good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarpmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location is really good, close to the main street, convienent, outside already is the pick up/ drop off point of the tours.
Staff is welcoming and helpful. I stayed in 8 ppl mixed dorm, bed already made with pillow and duvet. if something could be improved, that must be the cleanliness of the room, hope the staff would sweep the floor or pick up the rubbish in the room.
I would reccommand my friends to choose this backpacker.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapo522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean hostel in a perfect location in Cairns. I stayed in a 3 bed dorm with a/c and proper beds (not trunk ones)

The only annoying thing was that the clean up time of the kitchen was in the morning at breakfast time

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is great value for money - cheap, clean, and in the central of Cairns. They have a deal where is stay 4 nights pay for 3 which is awesome. No free wifi but you can get free wifi outside since Travel Bugs, BWT, and Peterpans are steps away (as well as Woolworth's). There isn't a good hostel vibe in terms of people hanging in the lounge or group activities, but you can easily party at Gilligan's then come back to Global for a good sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#31 of 86 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Duck Hostel
Lazy Duck Hostel
#67 of 86 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#58 of 86 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 mi away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Backpackers Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Property: Global Backpackers Central
Address: 9b Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing