We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Global Backpackers Central
Ranked #67 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a fantastic time there! Really fun and friendly. The receptionists Lauren and Sophie where very helpful. Also very clean hostel, specially the bathrooms! And its a great location very close to everything! Strongly reccomend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshBurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    35
    20
    34
See reviews for
1
29
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful, but the housekeeping staff were unbearable. I was spoken to rudely on a number of occasions and when there were two cleaners together, they laughed when one said something disrespectful and it was as though they were showing off to each other about who could be the most impolite. Definitely wouldn't stay here again as there are many better hostels in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardLatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

So arrived in Global as my first point of call to Australia after word on the street that it was a good place to stay. Vibrant atmosphere on the balcony makes it an ideal place for backpackers to hang out and meet people. Staff were different class, amazing girl on the front counter who checked us in with a

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a wonderful two nights here. The staff were more than hospitable, and very kind to us. We had a private room that was exceptionally clean. The bathrooms and kitchen were all clean and maintained well.
The beds are spotlessly clean, and the mattresses are SO comfy. AC is nice and cold. Very nicely located, a short walk to everything you will want to get to in Cairns. and its stay 3 nights get the 4th FREE....i know..FREE! A heck of a deal in a city that will squeeze your wallet dry pretty fast.
You must know, this is a big hostel- like a school dorm in many ways. A little lacking on the cozy warmth of smaller backpackers, and the kitchen can get packed at meal times with everyone cooking and eating at the same time. However the place does very well to ensure it's cleaned between meal times, and a genius idea of having to hire out your utensils (give them id and rent utensils for 2 hours) allows you to ensure you will always have a full set of utensils and not stress about finding them in the kitchen. 90% of the time our utensils were clean, we had to rewash it a few times though. We ate a little later than others, and showered early morning and late at night and were pretty much always had the place to ourselves
The place is very spacious though, plenty of nightly entertainment, and chances to mix around with others.
The best things about staying here:
Upfront, honest travel booking advice and 10% discount on packages (no [--])
6.50 meal deals at the next door irish pub, which is a HECK of a deal - includes a beer or wine with the meal
And again the staff, who are all so nice. If you're lucky, the wonderful Lauren or Chris will be there to welcome you and ensure you will at home.
The worst:
It is a little noisy at night as backpackers come back from the pub, but hey - its a backpackers...that's normal
Kitchen utensils can use a major upgrade (especially the pans)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AspiringVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hostel was new, spacious and bright. They had a nice common room with a great balcony. The kitchen modern and big with a good choise of kitchen utensils but you have to borrow cutlery and plates from reception.
The place was quite clean in overall. The staff is not very friendly. It seems to me that most of them are temporary workers and don't care too much about the guests. Anyway they were nice with us.
The hostel was very cheap for the area, and is part of a big company, so they had good promotions for long stay people. They had another hostel in the seafront, better location but definitly worse.
Good place if you like to party, not so good for sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoihe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very big hostel in the city. Small bathroom for the all girls !!!
You need to leave your ID at the reception to have the staff for cooking (and you have just 2 hours), so it's very annoying when you stay 1 week...
There is a rooftop with pool. It's just 5 min walk from the bus station.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

If I had read the bad reviews on here prior to booking I probably would have steered clear of this place, but it's really not that bad! We stayed for 2 weeks at a brilliant rate of $12 per night. The room was clean and comfortable. We had some problems with the aircon being far too cold and dripping, but it was better than no aircon at all, and the staff were very apologetic that they couldn't resolve the problem. The $5 food voucher for local bar PJs is excellent - and a drink is included too! If you do want to cook yourself then yes it is a bit frustrating having to traipse downstairs to get a box of cutlery and plates, but we've experienced that in other hostels too so it's not just this place. As for the noise issue, they've definitely stamped that out. The common areas close at 10pm without fail, and if you are drinking/being noisy in the rooms after 10 they will come round and ask you politely to go out. They are really quite strict on this, so looks like they've taken some of these comments on board. Brilliant location right in the middle of town - if you're looking for somewhere sociable, clean and central on a budget then this is definitely it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#50 of 85 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 mi away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.2 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Backpackers Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Property: Global Backpackers Central
Address: 9b Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing