We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Global Backpackers Central
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
47
40
40
20
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
40
40
20
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuy nightspier barfab locationbathrooms and showerseast coast tripmiddle of townsocial areatravel deskbig kitchenrooms are bigcommon areashousekeeping staffprivate roomrecommend staying hereport douglasgreat facilitiesair conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 183 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

really unfriendly and unwelcoming place, with a relentlessly long and slow queue no matter what time you enter reception. prepare to live with your passport in your back pocket and to have to hike all the way up and down stairs whenever you plan to eat- simply because there is no way to do so without providing photographic identification and being issued a prison-style box of goods. big clean kitchen, clean small rooms which smell of damp, central location.

Room Tip: if you end up with one with a broken and leaking air conditioner, anti-social roomies and a broken bedm change it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Rooms and bathrooms clean, air con dodgy, in normal double room but ok in delux room! Go to dougie at travel desk for tours he was very helpful! Pool area nice and $5 voucher for dinner at pj I briens was very handy!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Fantastic value at this friendly and helpful backpacker hotel! Rooms and bathrooms are clean and the staff is honest and quite helpful. The guests are respectful of each other and help each other out. We would stay here again and again! In fact we extended our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralphhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

we went to this hostel on the basis of the competitive price, and upon arriving, the hostel seemed clean and our room was clean, albeit there was a bed and nothing else though. The kitchen was average, but you have to leave id at reception to get any bowls/cutlery which is ridiculously inconvenient as its in another building, and the kitchen shut at 10! then night came.... the noise level was ridiculous, hoards of people gathering out in the corridors drinking altho theres apparently a 'no noise after 10pm' rule and a nightmanager. i contacted the night manager on several occassions ( iwas not the only 1 to do this) but after being woken up 6/7 times when you do eventually get to sleep, phoning a nightmanager that takes 10 minutes to appear, is not much of a help. PLease note, I hate complainig and dont expect much, but we hated it there. Despite all the posters which are up saying 'no refunds' , they did kindly give me a refund so we could leave early. It was a good location right in town, but in a way that works against it as it attracts the 18 year olds who go out everynight, so if your 18 and want to go out everynight, this hostel would work for u!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

i found the lay out of this hostel great the open planed lay out was great. the rooms was clean and basic but a good size the problem with this hotel is i found the management useless in not a kid im 28 so maybe that why i found it like being at school
the manager was very rude when i asked very simple questions
at night i could not sleep as there was a party in the halls every night and the night duty staff was either useless at stopping it or joining in with the people
they have the most useless kitchen ever with no usefull cooking equipment (frying pans with no handles and cookers that dont work or where just dangerous)
they had the most stupidest idea that you have to ask for cutlery everything you wanted to eat from the reception everytime (2 floors below) and even that was useless how easy is it to buy a few more plates
the biggest problem tho was the fact that they employ backbackers to clean the rooms which mean loads of backpackers have keys to your room and we had a new pairs of levis and a ted baker shirt stolen from the room that was locked
this is the worse place i stayed in the year of traveling but the sad thing was it could have been the best if it was better run

Room Tip: rooms off of the main corridor are the best as they are quiter and have natural light
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrystours28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews