We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unbelievably hostile staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Global Backpackers Central
Ranked #67 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Saint Kilda, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“unbelievably hostile staff”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

really unfriendly and unwelcoming place, with a relentlessly long and slow queue no matter what time you enter reception. prepare to live with your passport in your back pocket and to have to hike all the way up and down stairs whenever you plan to eat- simply because there is no way to do so without providing photographic identification and being issued a prison-style box of goods. big clean kitchen, clean small rooms which smell of damp, central location.

Room Tip: if you end up with one with a broken and leaking air conditioner, anti-social roomies and a broken b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    35
    20
    34
See reviews for
1
29
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Rooms and bathrooms clean, air con dodgy, in normal double room but ok in delux room! Go to dougie at travel desk for tours he was very helpful! Pool area nice and $5 voucher for dinner at pj I briens was very handy!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Fantastic value at this friendly and helpful backpacker hotel! Rooms and bathrooms are clean and the staff is honest and quite helpful. The guests are respectful of each other and help each other out. We would stay here again and again! In fact we extended our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

we went to this hostel on the basis of the competitive price, and upon arriving, the hostel seemed clean and our room was clean, albeit there was a bed and nothing else though. The kitchen was average, but you have to leave id at reception to get any bowls/cutlery which is ridiculously inconvenient as its in another building, and the kitchen shut at 10! then night came.... the noise level was ridiculous, hoards of people gathering out in the corridors drinking altho theres apparently a 'no noise after 10pm' rule and a nightmanager. i contacted the night manager on several occassions ( iwas not the only 1 to do this) but after being woken up 6/7 times when you do eventually get to sleep, phoning a nightmanager that takes 10 minutes to appear, is not much of a help. PLease note, I hate complainig and dont expect much, but we hated it there. Despite all the posters which are up saying 'no refunds' , they did kindly give me a refund so we could leave early. It was a good location right in town, but in a way that works against it as it attracts the 18 year olds who go out everynight, so if your 18 and want to go out everynight, this hostel would work for u!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

i found the lay out of this hostel great the open planed lay out was great. the rooms was clean and basic but a good size the problem with this hotel is i found the management useless in not a kid im 28 so maybe that why i found it like being at school
the manager was very rude when i asked very simple questions
at night i could not sleep as there was a party in the halls every night and the night duty staff was either useless at stopping it or joining in with the people
they have the most useless kitchen ever with no usefull cooking equipment (frying pans with no handles and cookers that dont work or where just dangerous)
they had the most stupidest idea that you have to ask for cutlery everything you wanted to eat from the reception everytime (2 floors below) and even that was useless how easy is it to buy a few more plates
the biggest problem tho was the fact that they employ backbackers to clean the rooms which mean loads of backpackers have keys to your room and we had a new pairs of levis and a ted baker shirt stolen from the room that was locked
this is the worse place i stayed in the year of traveling but the sad thing was it could have been the best if it was better run

Room Tip: rooms off of the main corridor are the best as they are quiter and have natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrystours28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just stayed for 5 days in Cairns at the end of my East Coast trip. Rooms were very basic, but at least there were no bunks. The staff were really helpful. Also there were some free activities like volleyball and pub quiz. Only problems were that there were lots of people who stayed there a long time so not that easy to make friends. Also I has a old brochure that sayed airport pickup was free, but actually is $5. But I did get 1 night free on a special so not too bad.

Room Tip: room on second floor is quieter as it is away from the main stairs....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalManagement, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi there,

We are always happy to hear that a guest is satisfied with their visit to our hostel. I glad that we were able to meet all of your expectations. Thanks so much for taking the time to pass along some positive feedback.

To address you concerns:

The reason we offer the free activities each night is to actively get guests to mingle and make friends. I do know that sometimes it can be a bit awkward to try to mix into an existing group of friends and actually employ a staff member just to try to make sure that everyone has fun. I am glad that you enjoyed the pub quiz and volleyball competition. We also currently offer a free weekly BBQ, scavenger hunt, beer pong, killer pool competition, pub crawl, and dance competition. We are also thinking of adding in a Movie of the Day and possibly coconut bowling in the near future.

Also I do hate to hear that you did get a hold of one of our older brochures. We are currently in the steps of distributing brochures to all our agents again. This time I will try to make sure that they do get rid of anything outdated so that no guest gets dissapointed by misinformation. Thanks for being understanding... With all of our specials and lower rates, it just is no longer possible to still include a free shuttle pick up that not many people were utilizing any way. Most people prefer to save $20 and get a free night then save $5 for a free pick up.

Again we really do want to thank you for posting positive feedback about your stay with us. I hope that you had as enjoyable an experience in the rest of Australia.

Cheers

Angelina Trush
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have to admit I only stayed here because it was prebooked as part of a cheap deal I got through wicked travel. Had I have looked up the reviews before hand I would have known this place was not for me. Its aimed at 18 year old kids that want to have a good time everynight and thats fine, I'm sure 10 years ago I would have thought it was perfectly alright. But for the everone else its a noisey dirty understaffed badly run party hostel. The kitchens too small for the number of guests. Theres not enough seating in either the balcony area or the tv room and there is no escape from the loud music piped throughout the place. When the balcony shuts at 10 the party seemed to move into the echo prone corridors ensuring sleep is impossible before 12. The tiolets were revolting and on Friday night 1 of the cubicles was plastered in vommit by 10pm. The only reason I'm giving this place 2 stars is due to it has got everything you need and a good location. If you are just going to party I doubt you'll mind too much about everything else anyway.

Room Tip: They will all be noisy but I'd advise getting a 4 bed dorm rather than a 8 as the rooms are of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisOFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalManagement, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi there,

While I appreciate the fact that you did not enjoy your stay, I would argue that we are definitely not the worst hostel in Cairns, just not the best hostel to suit your needs.

We are a bit of a party hostel and most of are guests are under the age of 22. It is unfortunate that perhaps your travel agent did not understand your accommodation needs better, but tried to save you money through our current "Partypacker" special that we offer Wicked Travel. For only $12 per night, our budget special through Wicked Travel is one of the main reasons that we have started shifting away from a more mixed audience to more of a younger, funner hostel. After reading your review, I am in discussions about retraining some of the Wicked Travel agents so that they can offer a better description of the hostel to their customers. This would have enabled you to make a better decision about whether you wanted to save money and stay with us- or perhaps spend more money to check in to a quieter hostel located away from the Cairns city center.

To address your concerns about the size of the common areas, I would like to point out that we offer a Rooftop Pool with a BBQ area and lounge chairs, a open TV lounge that has a large screen TV, free reading books, large sectional lounge, and still enough room to fit a pool table and have more open space, our balcony area houses six large picnic tables. Beyond this space we also have more lounges in the hostel reception area and a 20 seat computer cafe. For a hostel that only accommodates 200 people- no one has complained before that our common areas do not offer enough space. Since we have been fully booked for the last month, I will agree that we have noticed that the kitchen does become a bit crowded at peak times so are taking some steps to add more storage space. However it is an industrial sized kitchen with 16 hubs available for cooking.

Due to your description, I believe that the weekend that you stayed we were a bit overwhelmed as we had quite a few troublesome guests and several large group bookings. However once the problem was encountered- we did arrange for extra security staff to help control the issue. There were a couple of problems but these were dealt with as soon as they arose to try to limit the disturbance to other guests. Complaints about the noise of Friday saw us also take on extra staff that Saturday night and call a halt to hostel drinking by 6pm instead of the normal 10pm. The complaints that did come down to reception though were compensated by free internet or free meals since no one wanted a refund or to check out early since all Cairns hostels were booked that weekend with several events occurring. Did you come to reception to tell us that you were unhappy?

In regards to your complaints about the toilets, I know the night of your stay as the night warden was called at 11pm by guest informing him of the vomit in the bathroom and it was cleaned up as soon as staff were notified. Our night wardens actually can earn bonuses when they have to clean up after guests so they make sure to address problems as soon as they are identified and pass on the info to me. If you had noticed the problem earlier, a quick call down to reception would have meant that we would have corrected the problem sooner. Unfortunately, we cannot always monitor all areas all the time. Outside of extra messes, the bathrooms are cleaned three times per day every day- 6am, 10am and 4pm.

I do understand that different travellers have different expectations and needs. It was unfortunate that Wicked tried to save you some money and booked you into a hostel that was not a good fit with your expectations. I wish that you had informed reception of your dissatisfaction with the hostel because we may have been able to get in touch with Wicked Travel for you to possible sort out a solution that would have made you more comfortable.

Sincerely,

Angelina Trush
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#53 of 85 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 mi away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.2 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Backpackers Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Property: Global Backpackers Central
Address: 9b Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing