We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Global Backpackers Central
Ranked #67 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value for money, clean”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed in a double room in Global Backpackers for only $48 per night. The hostel is clean, central and quite new. If you're looking for a hostel where you can meet other backpackers, this hostel is probably not the best because it's very big. Otherwise: I would definitely reccommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Double rooms are also quite cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALSAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    35
    20
    34
See reviews for
1
29
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed at Global Central during my stay in Cairns and was plesently suprised. All members of staff were helpful and always had a smile.
After staying in many hostals whilst traveling up the east coast, i have to say this was one of the best so far. The entire hostal was clean and and had great areas to meet new people. The pool area was my fav area to hang out because good music was played throughout the day which ment you could relax. You would never feel alone as people are constintly up on the pool deck hanging out.
Global also had great activitys for everyone each day such as, volleyball and free sausage sizzle! Not only were there so many free activitys to do throughout the week they also included a $5 meal voucher for PJ's which includes a drink. It was good value for money because you get a really large meal! :)

I would return to Global central if i traveled back to Cairns!

Room Tip: I stayed in a number of rooms which i found all had a good high level standard. I would have to say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed at Global Central while I was in Cairns this year. The hostel is really new and extremly clean. All of the rooms have good light and compared to some of the other hostels I have stayed in previously I would stay here again 100 times over.
The greatest thing is the pool that they have located on the roof, like a little hidden paridise!
The staff were helpful and always remebered my name which was a nice touch.
The Entertainment was great! Each day they have a game of FREE BBQ!!
Lots of fun, made some great friends and travel buddies! Highly recommended .

Room Tip: The double private is great!! flat screen TV is so nice, go on splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morganne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

It's large and very modern, not grimey like most hostels. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The common area has comfy couches and a large flat screen TV. There's a nice balcony which overlooks a main city street. There's a small pool on the roof, but never saw people chillin around it.
There's not plates/cutlery in the kitchen, you have to rent a box from reception, so that's kind of weird.
The only negative aspect I can think of is the fact that bc it's a larger hostel, it doesn't feel very "homey." There's travellers staying for just a few nights coming in and out, there's different people on the balcony every night, I wouldn't want to stay here long term.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I check in for one night and ended up staying a week. Basically Global Central has everything you need. It is centrally located which is just fantastic. The hostel is one of the cleanest I have stayed in. Each night you stay you are entitled to a $5 meal deal at P.J Obriens which is a 30 second walk from the hostel. Good food and good portion sizes for just $5 and that includes a drink also, awesome!!! I am traveling alone, but meet a really nice group of fellow central guests at P.J's hence the reason i stayed longer. I booked some tours with their travel desk. Staff very friendly and really knew their stuff!! The trips they booked me on were amazing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy_F89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed at Global Palace over the weekend and was pleasantly surprised. This is the cleanest hostel I have stayed at in my stay in Australia. Wish there was bathrooms in the rooms but everything else made up for it. They told me to go on this one boat passions, so I made booking with the reef trip from the reception and it was my favorite day yet. Definitely will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed in t he hostel for 4 nights had a room with 4 beds which was spacious but bathroom was public at the floor. The reception team especially Chelsea was very helpful and nice and really made the stay pleasant. I got their help to arrange my next tours in Australia and my bus ticket to the east coast.

Room Tip: The 4 share room is very nice and not. Expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#53 of 85 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 mi away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.2 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Backpackers Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Property: Global Backpackers Central
Address: 9b Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing