We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubbish food not fit to serve from this restaurant.”

Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 591 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Rubbish food not fit to serve from this restaurant.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I went to this restaurant on saturday night my meal wasn't too bad but my husbands dinner was disgusting he had the prawn dish for $39.90 and it came out looking very bad it was suppose to be fresh australian banana prawns but the beads were very black and they were not peeled and the sauce wasn't creamy garlic. The salad was a small bowl of rocket. I don't think this was a $40.00 meal he left it on his plate.I think they should be serving good wild gulf prawns not rubbish food like this
Not happy at all with this. Was always good food before. You will lose customers if you serve up food like this for much longer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    533
    163
    72
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good service but oysters not fresh”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Visited with family. The food was reasonable but prices consistent with the high tourist prices charged in this part of Cairns. The oysters served were not fresh and were warm - this is really unacceptable considering this is a seafood restaurant and the prces charged. The staff were professional and friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Don't be out off by the ocker name, the food is excellent. We had seafood fusion and barbecue seafood plate, both very good. Nice location on the Esplanade and friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ambienceisimportant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good place with good food and perfect service”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

we have been there for dinner, had a nice starter, the chicken skewers are yummy. followed by fish with potatoes and asparagus. all good cooked, nice combination. location is great and the service was perfect. our waitress knew all about the food and was very helpful and a good talk. will go again

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shanghaimarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Raw Prawn should be re-titled "The Rotten Oyster"”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I went to this restaurant with my family with the anticipation of indulging in some fresh seafood. I was sharing the seafood platter for 2 which was a hefty price of $170. When there is a tank of live crayfish on display & the prices are high, you would expect that it is because your paying for quality. Not the case here, the crayfish we were served was so tiny,(approx 15 cm), had been frozen (for god knows how long) and was as tasteful and a dry dish sponge. If that was bad enough, it got worse, the oysters were off - literally rotten! Anyone who has copped a rotten oyster, would know that it leaves a bad taste in your mouth and a nausease feeling in your stomach. The meal was over at that point, the rest of the table couldn't touch their meal, your inclined to lose trust with what your eating when unhealthy food is being served. I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone. It is not only a rip off with it's prices, the management holds no respect or honesty towards it customers, and also puts peoples health at risk.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mystic121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing