We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame Really.”

Flecker House Coffee Shop
Ranked #33 of 40 Coffee & Tea in Cairns
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Cairns
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shame Really.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Always had a good reputation with locals for food. Generous servings, good variety, wonderful setting. Visited today for Brunch, oh dear! Service very poor, attitude of staff not acceptable. One of the problems Cairns Restaurants have is poor or inconsistent service. While restaurant owners continue to employ back packers then complaints will continue. It's a shame because it has been a fave with locals and many of us bring our interstate family and friends to eat there. Pick up the service and we will all be back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank psyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cairns
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“In The Heart Of Medical Centres”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

This cafe is amazing with a great fresh light menu. We were there for lunch in between medical meetings etc. Its a welcome break from a stressful time. Quick caring and attention to detail was great to see.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“long wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

My partner and I went there yesterday after a lovely stroll through the beautiful gardens. Unfortunately we can't say anything about the quality and/or value because after we waited 15 minutes for someone to turn up and ask for our orders we decided to leave.
From looking at the menu it is quite expensive and one would think with prices that high the service would be better.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely pit stop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

This Coffee Shop was fairly expensive but well worth it with a nice brew or a great coffee and a variety of snacks or meals to go with it.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank Annette122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cafe at Botanical Gardens, Cairns”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We were captive clients - eat here or....nowhere.
Food was sort of OK..
Customer service let them down quite badly. Probably understaffed and they just could not keep up with everyone t - there was a long wait. Also the staff seemed to have run out of steam even this was only 12noon and had trouble being polite let alone being helpful - someone should look at sorting this out.
Too bad because this has the potential to do really well and it could have been a much more positive experience.
Would not choose to stop here again unless there was an assurance of an improvement.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuDooNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flecker House Coffee Shop also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Flecker House Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing