We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront
Ranked #48 of 744 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Overlooking Trinity Inlet at the Waterfront Harbour Lights, Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront captures three ingredients -- great food, great location and perfect ambience. Dundees has a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in which couples, parties and families can all feel welcome at any time of the day. Dundee's specialises in Australian beef, fresh seafood, pasta and salads, there is a dish to cater for every tastebud. Dundees is the perfect place to Kickstart your day with a coffee and snacks on the waterfront.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A great restaurant with attentive service. A table at the front with views over the harbour. Great atmosphere, totally recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 758catherinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h123987s, Manager at Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Catherine,

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation.

We are delighted that you loved your dining experience with us and hope you had a wonderful visit to Cairns and have enjoyed your time in Australia.

We wish you safe travels.

Have a great day!

Best regards
Dundee's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 2,733 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’m a bit of a foodie, and this place felt like it’s set up for the hoards, and for volume rather than anything i might normally like. I was wrong - it was the best meal we had in cairns - even the vegetable side dishes were so delicious - the corn tasted like it came straight from the garden. Great Australian food, lovely staff, lovely setting and most importantly delicious food!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 213el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h123987s, Manager at Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello 213el,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback.

So happy to hear that you loved your dining experience with us - our goal is to ensure all our guests leave with a smile on their face and bellies full and it sounds like we achieved this

We hope you have had a lovely visit to Cairns and exploring our patch of paradise and look forward to welcoming you back, should you return in the future.

Have a great day!

Best regards
Dundee's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food and even better service . The restaurant was full and we had to wait for a table. The staff looked after us and brought drinks and kept us informed. It is a big place and they did a great job

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h123987s, Manager at Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Michelle,

So happy to hear that you had a lovely evening with us and you enjoyed your food and service.

We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Cairns.

Have a great day!

Best regards
Dundee's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was ok was a bit slow getting water and a drink; my friends ordered seafood tower for 1 each I had the mud crab the food was absolutely amazing
But may need to look at a finger bowl to wash fingers and crab meat picker would be even better

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h123987s, Manager at Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Andrea,

Thank you for your review. So happy to read you loved your seafood tower and will definitely forward on your feedback with regards the crab meat picker.

We hope you had a wonderful visit to Cairns.

Have a great day.

Best regards
Dundee's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoy bringing visitors to Dundees because the food and service is very good and the location is just fantastic.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Di4870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h123987s, Manager at Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Di,

Thank for your review.

It puts a bit smile on our face when we hear that locals love our food, service and location and it's always a big compliment when they bring their visiting friends to dine with us as well.

Have a great day and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Dundee's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing