We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place”

Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront
Ranked #25 of 597 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Overlooking Trinity Inlet at the Waterfront Harbour Lights, Dundee's Restaurant and Kickstart on the Waterfront at Dundees captures three ingredients -- great food, great location and perfect ambience. Dundees has a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in which couples, parties and families can all feel welcome at any time of the day. Dundee's specialises in Australian beef, fresh seafood, pasta and salads, there is a dish to cater for every tastebud. Kickstart is the perfect place to Kickstart your day. It offers hearty and healthy breakfast and brunch options in the morning
Mackay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The food and service was amazing. Location was gorgeous. Couldn't fault this place on anything. Can't wait to come back to cairns and come here again. Well worth it. But be sure to book

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HapWedBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    889
    539
    192
    89
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great view with friendly service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have always seen Dundee's as more of a tourist restaurant and not paid much attention to it. Friends of mine have however always enjoyed it and highly recommended it. So I recently gave the restaurant a go.

Dundee's has a great outdoor areas with view over the water. Great location! The service was friendly and efficient. Glenn, the waiter, explained the lunch menu very well and I never felt rushed or pushed. Good value for money and a very nice setting.
Next time will come for dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zullli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great View - Great Food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have been living in Cairns for 12 months and have constantly been disappointed in the service and food I've received. Until I visited Dundees, the setting is spectacular - the interior is uncomplicated and modern. The floor staff are attentive, friendly and know their stuff. I have ate there 4/5 times now. Highlights have been the chefs choice seafood platter and the garlic bread. The lunch menu is fantastic value the steak sandwich was my favourite, followed by the calamari salad. The desserts are all amazing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erinndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great lunch in a beautiful place!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We lunched at Dundees last week and really enjoyed the good service and relaxed atmosphere. Tina and Kim looked after us really well Tony was in seventh heaven with his seafood basket and I enjoyed a well flavoured Pasta dish. Really not room for the Blueberry Tart but when on holiday wow !!! We will certainly return next time we are in Australia. Thanks Guys

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My partner and I ate twice at this restaurant while staying in Cairns. As my partner has a food allergy of garlic, his meals were prepared without it, but still retaining all of the wonderful taste he wanted. Our first meal was the seafood platter which was extremely fresh and full of wonderful flavours. Our second meal was the steak with seafood and the steaks were cooked to absolute perfection and they were so juicy, just how a perfect steak should be. The knife just slipped through them. Our dessert was a trio, and we still can't choose which one was the best, the whole three were delicious. We have every intention of returning back to Dundee's the next time we are in Cairns. We highly recommended this restaurant in every way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing