We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick Lunch”

Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront
Ranked #24 of 613 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Overlooking Trinity Inlet at the Waterfront Harbour Lights, Dundee's Restaurant and Kickstart on the Waterfront at Dundees captures three ingredients -- great food, great location and perfect ambience. Dundees has a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in which couples, parties and families can all feel welcome at any time of the day. Dundee's specialises in Australian beef, fresh seafood, pasta and salads, there is a dish to cater for every tastebud. Kickstart is the perfect place to Kickstart your day. It offers hearty and healthy breakfast and brunch options in the morning
Maroochydore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good for a quick Lunch”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We made our selection from the 'Quick Lunch' menu - a wrap and the steak sandwich on Turkish bread. Service was prompt and friendly. Food was plentiful and delicious. Wine selection by the glass was adequate and all reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    936
    563
    204
    92
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Mission Beach, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Could not ask for better service, food and location my self and my clients had a great lunch thank you to our your staff.
Michelle Malpass prime radio

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible. Obnoxious.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

While vacationing in Cairns, we asked our local tour guide for restaurant recommendations. He steered us to Dundee's. I was excited to eat here and very happy we were able to get a table right away from the pleasant hostess.

We sat down and our waitress attended our table right away. She was extremely helpful when I had questions about which item to choose. She was also a very sweet and lovely girl. However, we never saw her again after that. We sat patiently at our empty table for about 30 minutes. She never came back to check up on us. We thought she forgot about us or maybe she never put in our order. We only saw her walking quickly back and forth past our table. We tried to make eye contact with her, but she was oblivious. So on our last attempt to get her attention while she speed-walked past us, we waved our arms and she still didn't notice, so then we had to very loudly yell out "EXCUSE ME!" We weren't trying to be rude, it was just the only way to get her attention. It worked, and we asked her when our food would be coming out. The chef heard this and was not at all pleased. He then loudly and obnoxiously referred to us as the impatient table who demanded our food.

When we finally got our food 40 minutes after ordering, my kangaroo steak was tough and overcooked. The fish was tasteless, and the seafood platter was unimpressive. Overall (without the snarky comments from the chef) it was a poor dining experience. Add in the obnoxious chef, and the dining experience became the worst part of our trip to Cairns.

We later complained to the hostess/manager about the poor service. She told us something along the lines of too bad, "That's that norm."

So if you want overpriced/mediocre food, terrible service, and to be publicly judged by an obnoxious chef, Dundee's is the place to go. That's the norm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovecronuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meh......”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Don't bother - there are better options. We are visiting friends in Cairns, they did a very nice thing by taking us out to a dinner. We were not impressed with the offerings at Dundee's - the wine list does not list the vintage - this would have been helpful with selecting a wine. The service was friendly albeit not very knowledgeable about the wine and the food. The seafood fettuccine my wife ordered was very bland. I ordered the Australian sampler - the Emu sausage was atrocious, the sweet satay sauce and other sauces blended together in a strange way, the only thing that was semi decent was the kangaroo skewer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had dinner hear on a friday night and while it was busy with some tour groups inside we sat outside and had a great evening. Whilst the service was quite slow and the waiter tried to take our dessert order before we got our main meals, the food was very good. The servings were not big however we didnt leave hungry. We didnt have room for dessert , however I thought they lacked imagination and no Gluten Free options . The wine list was extensive however it was not cheap , a good wine was around $50 per bottle a bit steep. We would be happy to go back again as the food was very very good, however it is not a cheap night out

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cracker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing