We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off Crab, Stinky Calamari” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donnini's Ciao Italia - CLOSED

Donnini's Ciao Italia
Price range: $0 - $35
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
hamburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Off Crab, Stinky Calamari”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Waitress had no idea about hospitality, and that was the start.
First was the carpaccio, half the plate was grey, other half was red meat, and that concerned us from the beginning. Next was the off calamari. The plate was put in front of us, which wasn't our order but wasn't sure either as we ordered a seafood pasta as well, so i tried it before realizing it wasnt ours, and it was off.
We called the waitress over and she picked it up and put it in front of the table next to us. By the way, there was a whole 3 tables other than us eating at the time.
Next came the crab and scallop pasta. It stank worse than a dogs breakfast, seafood was off, so we sent it back and asked for the bill, couldnt get out of there quick enough.
After we hurried out, we saw the couple that got the dish from our table, and they agreed that the calamari was off.
Does not get much worse than that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lumail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    19
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great veggie pizza - ask for the chilli oil!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Went there for lunch and ordered a large vegetarian pizza - looked amazing with generous topping including capsicum, mushroom, eggplant, spinach and mozzarella with nice thin base. Tasted very fresh. Added lots of chilli oil to it, which made it even better.

Service was a little slow to take the order, but then very attentive topping up the free water, replacing empty bottle and removing empty plates.

Great spot to sit out by the pier. Got a bit windy where we were first sitting but staff happy to help us move to a less windy seat. Would recommend to others, especially if wanting Italian or something other than seafood.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

So tonight I went out with my family to Donninis. Quite of few friends of mine had mentioned it but tonight was the first time I had never tried it and let me just say it was terrible! We were greeted in a friendly manner and seated. We had drinks quickly and the service was consistent but very poor. Waiters leaning over you, throwing coasters across the table and in a whole looking very scruffy. When taking orders they were impatient (I know it can be frustrating but don't go into hospitality if your not patient and have no social skills. So our food was brought out and well here it is:
$20 for:
- small amount
- disgusting filling and sauce
- hair in food
- cold throughout the sauce
So that was pretty much my dining experience there paid $23 for absolute crap, do not go there the only good thing about it was its location if that's all your after I suggest dundees, great food and service.
Hope his helps :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food was really good....stake cooked to perfection so was the fish...great salad and gourmet grilled vegies....Will be back again if Cairns.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OPT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service appalling food poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Sunday lunchtime & friends visiting from out of town.. Lets go to Danini's. the foods good, service is consistent, & we all know where it is at the Pier. Bad choice.. Empty restaurant at 12:30 so you'd think food once ordered should br reasonably prompt. Wrong. The lunch special offered swordfish as an entree. Could we have that as a main instead please? No. ???? Chef had to be asked. We waited. Chef said ok. We ordered - 1 entree 4 mains & 3 desserts. We waited ......... A long time. Entree arrived for 1. Plate cleared and we waited. A long time. We asked the 3rd waitstaff likely time frame. Busy??? place was all but empty! Our mains arrived @ 1:45. The swordfish dumped unceremoniously in the table. Fish was dry, despite its lavish dressing. We ate at a normal pace while we chatted. Time was slipping by & one of needed to be gone by2:45. May we have dessert order ASAP please, explaining Y. Lost the order, re-ordered told wed taken too long to eat our mains and no need to be rude AND. "We can't help what happens in the kitchen!!! ????? Just can't buy advertising like that

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donnini's Ciao Italia also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing