We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited choice for a la carte diners”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Coco - CLOSED

Cafe Coco
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Limited choice for a la carte diners”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We didn't feel like the seafood buffet, so we opted for the a la carte menu. The food were ok but lacking in variety. Salad/green vegetables are not included in your meal, you have to order them as side dish. Our roast beef was not what we expected - it was served cold! Our large chicken peri peri dish was HUGE! it was a mountain of chicken with nothing else (boring). Our meat platters were not that interesting (they should renamed the 'pate' as something else). The extra side dish of salad contained mostly of broad beans & a bit of green stuff! Not going back anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaLiaLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kairi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High tea for Wedding”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was very disappointed with the High Tea at Coco's Restaurant. Chunky cafe cups (no fine china), limited tea and coffee choices, big thick sandwiches with little filling, and hard scones. Would not recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cratermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
172 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Easter at Coco's in Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Coco's was highly recommended to us as a dining option in Cairns & it did not disappoint. All the food on the buffett menu was of high quality & there was plenty of it. Our price included 2 different types of cocktails which the waiting staff kept on bringing out to ensure there was no shortage. Waiting staff are super efficient, friendly & extremely pleasant. The venue provides for a great atmosphere & the duet singing on the day were great entertainment. Most enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We had the seafood buffet on Sunday night and could not fault it. All the hot dishes were cooked to perfection. There was a selection of salmon lamb chicken beef that we tried. The seafood selection had oysters mussels spanner crab and 2 types of prawns. All were excellent. Lots of different salads and deserts to die for. The staff were very friendly and made you feel like you were a VIP. Imogen and the others who's names I cannot remember gave us very good and friendly service. Would highly recommend this seafood buffet to anyone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“high tea at cafe coco's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

i was taken as a christmas present for high tea at cafe coco's what a ??? the first was they could not find the booking. i do not see the trouble as we where the only people there, we where placed right next to 4 people from staff having a meeting(not good) there was no service we had to ask for everything and then it seemed it was a trouble for them
we only received one cup of tea each (which was a tea bag in a pot?)
then the food came out well it had be sitting there for a while as the food was dried out but the sandwiches where fresh and the nicest thing on the menu
this was not a cheap thing i did e-mail the restaurant but till this day have not got a response back from them this is why i am writing this for all to see

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank neevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Coco also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing