We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Harbour Lights
Ranked #16 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We booked a studio apartment for the night before our flight the next morning. We arrived around 6 pm at night. It took about 15 minutes to check in even though there was no one else other than one other person at the counter but 2 staff members at the check in counter.

The check in service was average but she provided us with the general information to find our room and where to park our car.

We booked a room at a 5 star hotel and expected 5 star accommodations only to enter our room to a room that looked like someone's closet and a bed that was curved inwards due to what I assume as overuse of the mattress without ever flipping it.

We went downstairs to complain to reception and they reluctantly changed our room. The next hotel room was more suitable but was still not 5 star in my view. It was average in nature and the furniture in the hotel room looked worn with hotels in the pictures decorated around the room and the dining table and coffee table with visible battered markings on it.

I requested a late check out when I checked in the first time and did not mention it again when we had our room changed. I figured do to the current experience with the service that I would call again the next morning to make sure that they were aware of the late check out so that they don't try to charge me for checking out late. When I called the front desk at 10am to ensure that we had a late check out, the receptionist tried to tell me that we couldn't because the hotel was full until I told him that we already requested this the night before and it was approved but we changed rooms. He then miraculously found on the computer that we did indeed request for a late check out the night before.

All in all, we would definitely not stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone. Not only was the rooms bad but the service was just as bad. Definitely not a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadianabroad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CNSHarbourLights, Manager at Cairns Harbour Lights, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We are disappointed that your stay was not how you expected it. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and delivering a well rounded product. Clearly on your stay we have let you down and we sincerley apologise.
We will soon be commencing a refurbishment on all of our rooms, which we are very excited about. It will see the replacement of all furniture and installation of curtains.
We would certainly like the opportunity to restore your faith in Cairns Harbour Lights, so if in the future you would like to stay again please contact the hotel directly on 61 7 4057 0801 and ask for our Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    282
    108
    51
    34
See reviews for
138
344
67
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed at Harbour Lights Apartments for 5 nights with Family we had 2 two bedroom units, both were great, plenty of room especially in one unit, comfortable beds, dark curtains and well furnished. Each unit had great views over the harbour, cairns and the mountains. It was great to walk out and enjoy the harbour restaurants and not to far to walk into the main part of Cairns. We all enjoyed are stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clifford1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Spacious, modern, clean. Loved the location, walking by the Harbor and able to cook when we wanted or enjoy the cafes just downstairs. It was perfect for a nice 5 day break w my sisterinlaw. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again. We saw a good deal and the hotel matched it. My favourite!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

It is a nice hotel, in excellent location, but with a few drawbacks.

I stayed for one night in studio room. The room was slightly on the small side, although adequate. Everything was clean, a selection of teas and coffee was available. The modern bathroom was stocked with a large number of towels, good quality toiletries and hairdrier. The balcony was spacious and the view over the harbour was lovely. Surprisingly, the balcony only had one chair, while the room could sleep two people. Wasn't a problem for me as a solo traveler, but it is a bit of an oversight.

The reception staff were very friendly, efficient and ready with advice when asked. The location of the hotel is excellent - on the harbour and a very short walk from centre of town. There are a few very nice restaurants just downstairs. You can order room service from a variety of restaurants if you don't want to go out.

There were several minor negatives. Firstly, the room had a bit of a damp, musty smell. Not sure of the source. Secondly, the nice modern bathroom didn't have any power points. So you couldn't for example use the hairdrier in the bathroom itself. A bit of a silly design deficiency. Thirdly, the kettle provided for tea/coffee making didn't fit under the bathroom tap, so to fill the kettle you had to use a glass and fill it one glass at a time. Again, not well thought through.

None of those things had any significant impact on my stay, but not fabulous design. I didn't have the chance to use the pool/sauna facilities, so cannot comment on those.

Good, comfortable stay overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyte_of_fancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

It was a very good stay with this hotel but only draw back was it had see through blinds on all windows. At night, you cannot have any privacy as guests staying at Hilton hotel located right across the road can see everything that goes in Harbour light rooms even with blinds down.

Apart from this, the location is a huge plus, and few minutes work takes you into heart of Cairns city, shops, restaurant, casino and mall. Recommend stay for good location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalpnaSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Upon arrival we were offered a studio room on the 4th floor however it soon became evident there was an issue with the air conditioning. We mentioned this to reception and a maintenance person was sent to investigate, eventually declaring the air con to be okay, even though an error message still kept appearing when turning the temperature down to cool the room. Eventually we went out leaving the air con on, hoping the room would be cool upon our return. It wasn't and it was very hot and stuffy so I returned to reception and asked the Night Manager to come and see what I was talking about. He obliged and agreed there seemed to be an issue and it would not be a pleasant night's sleep for us so he organised a room move for us. He offered us an upgrade to a harbour view room but most importantly the air con was working very well. I am mentioning this not as a complaint (because things happen) but as an acknowledgement of good service. Both rooms were exactly as advertised, clean, very comfortable and well appointed. This hotel is in an excellent location if visiting the casino is on your agenda, wanting access to great restaurants on the boardwalk or if you are planning a trip to the reef or the islands. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no room service or breakfast offered at this hotel as most rooms (except the studio rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Harbour Lights

Property: Cairns Harbour Lights
Address: 1 Marlin Parade | CityPort Harbourfront Complex, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Harbour Lights 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Harbour Lights Hotel Cairns
Harbour Lights Apartments Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing