We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Harbour Lights
Ranked #17 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great location in Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel is right on the waterfront of the esplanade. It is in a good location and I could walk to many parts of Cairns CBD from it. The rooms were not very large but the views from my room were awesome.
The hotel is the perfect spot to get on tours to the Great Barrier Reef, etc cos it is right at the ferry terminal. It was such a short walk to my tour boats.
I arrived in Cairns very early in the morning and the hotel was able to plan my tours for me. He staff at the reception desk was very accommodating and when I asked for rooms on higher floors, they obliged me. I had a great stay and loved every minute I spent in Cairns. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and may stay here when I visit Cairns again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabGlobetrotter03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    275
    107
    50
    32
See reviews for
132
332
66
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
455 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The Cairns Harbour Lights is located on the harbour so the rooms have views of the water. It is only one block to the main part of town and there are restaurants right out the front door. Rooms are very spacious and modern but cheaply furnished. I stayed 3 nights and my rate did not include daily servicing - I would prefer a cheaper rate than daily servicing. There is a pool and gym on the fourth floor. Parking is an additional $10 per day and spaces are limited so you may have to park in driveway or in the restaurant parking (the hotel staff will give you a token to exit the restaurant parking which is normally $12). Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived early in the morning and asked for early check in.
The room was ready so we could go in as soon as we arrived. Also I asked for an upgrade for ocean view and they had one room available and they upgraded me for free. Thank you. I appreciated (I asked by mail prior my arrival but it wasn't sure to have the upgrade).
Best location at Marine, just in front of wharf where the boats leave to Great Barrier Reef. I suggest Great Adventures everything was perfect. Minutes walk to Esplanade, restaurants and Lagoon.The apartments were really good, clean with everything needed. Kitchen with all the appliances, a comfortable room and a good bathroom. The living room was the best with harbour and sea view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcoola, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stayed at this hotel after being at the Pullman for business purposes earlier in the week. I had decided to stay here rather than Pullman due to the cost difference, however would not make that mistake again. The first room that I was placed into was tiny, and looked out over a carpark, despite asking to be on a higher floor with some sort of view at time of booking. I asked if I could be moved to a higher floor, and was told I couldn't. I asked what the upgrade fee was to a better room/higher floor and was advised that it was >$100 upgrade fee per night (I stopped her before hearing the full cost). It would have been cheaper to stay at the amazing 5 star hotel I had come from than pay that fee! In the end, they suddenly found a room available on a higher floor.
This room had the same layout but was a lot larger, and far more pleasant with a view. The water pressure was amazing (yes, I notice these things!) but the bathroom was a little awkward and not designed that well - the water flowed out onto the floor drenching the bathroom after a shower, and the showerhead smashed to the ground every time the water stopped.
Other than that, we were much happier with this room, and this was the level I would have expected in the first place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Cairns, it has one of the best locations in the city if you are planning on going out to the reef as it is right in the marina. It is also right above many waterfront restaurants and across the street from the main area of town filled with tour agencies, restaurants and shopping. The rooms are big as it is also an apartment building so it is great lodging for extended stay; as all apts have kitchens and living rooms with balconies. A full service gym is also on property as well as free wifi. This location and the amenities cannot be beat for the price. Things to note- there is not daily maid service, but there is room service from the 1st floor restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlicesAdventures13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Harbour Lights

Property: Cairns Harbour Lights
Address: 1 Marlin Parade | CityPort Harbourfront Complex, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Harbour Lights 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Harbour Lights Hotel Cairns
Harbour Lights Apartments Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing