We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't, Save Your Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Harbour Lights
Ranked #18 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't, Save Your Money”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I'm a gold Accor card holder, now Platinum, This would have to be the worst hotel /apartment I have ever staying in anywhere the whole world, it's cold and looks like a prison once inside.

Short term Hotel / Apartment guests get secondhand views of walls and bars. only the permanent guest get the views promoted on the website, as there are dividing walls / doors. The waterside of the Apartment is labeled permanent guests and the other half is labeled hotel guests, the rooms are big, but bland. The hotel Keys kept losing there codes, and I was locked out of the building @ 2am for 15mins until the night manager heard me tapping on the glass doors.

Food is over priced & not world class for the price, for b/fast you have to go to though another Accor hotel onto a second Accor Hotel...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlansWorldTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    278
    108
    51
    34
See reviews for
134
340
67
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Friendly helpful staff on the front desk, Parking area taken up with a lot of private parking so not a lot spare & $10/day. The rooms face around a central courtyard with reminds you of a jail with metal bars everywhere. Rooms have a spacious lounge/dining room area with a small kitchen...microwave and hob. Furnishings were very basic and a mismatch of decor in the lounge, but management has said they will be renovating the rooms soon. My room faced Marlin Parade and looked directly at the Hilton. The big windows meant it felt like being in a fishbowl as there were just pull down blinds but no curtains. A reasonable sized balcony. There is no restaurant, so you have to either use the breakfast pack provided (mine was out of date!) or find a cafe for breakfast. The air conditioning works well, but is quite noisy and the bathrooms rather small. Cleaning could have been better with lots of dust around. Lots of restaurants at hand on the Boardwalk and only a couple of minutes walk to Cairns CBD.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syd675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diano Marina, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great location, right in the city center.. only 2 minutes walk to the Cairns Lagoon and directly on the esplanade with a stunning view on the sea.
Good service, with parking, internet (surcharge), sauna, swimming pool and gym.

It is very convenient and it makes you forget your car!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great location, right in the heart of the city. great friendly staff and service. The building is like a jail, with metal bars everywhere . The modern décor has gone wrong. Our access cards constantly didn't work. no room service. The shower was dirty and the room was just basic.

Room Tip: try get a north facing apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My partner and I recently booked a weekend in #1102. While the views were wonderful and the apartment was clean and spacious, it was the friendly service from staff that made our stay so enjoyable. They helped out with all our needs, from car parking, early check in and even freezer space! We each had some work to take care of that weekend, but staying here really made it doable! All our needs were met and we will certainly be recommending this place to friends and family!

Room Tip: Simply request a high floor with a view of the inlet, the staff is more than obliging!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I can't figure out why I tried Harbour Lights this trip. It is a well located apartment building with an ACCOR hotel attachment. There are no facilities for dining (even breakfast) on the property, no daily room service, average décor, small rooms, with (in my case), a view over the back street to the Hilton driveway. Everything is better and cheaper at the Hilton, unless you happen to want to try to cook something. There is a 2 burner hot plate, dishwasher and microwave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Harbour Lights

Property: Cairns Harbour Lights
Address: 1 Marlin Parade | CityPort Harbourfront Complex, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Harbour Lights 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cairns Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Harbour Lights Hotel Cairns
Harbour Lights Apartments Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing